Perfect Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very tasty. Dredging the chicken in cornstarch is a great idea. I've always used flour in the past but the cornstarch gave it a crispy lightness that is very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Banos, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First time using capers.....interesting flavor with rest of these ingredients!! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First off I have to say that the prep and cooking time are right on with this one. Don't pick this recipe if you are in a hurry for dinner. That being said it was worth the wait. I used 1 tablespoon each of fresh herbs as opposed to the dried and think this was a wise choice. I used onion powder in place of onions because my husband won't eat onions and left out the capers because I didn't have any. After reducing the broth it concentrated the sodium so next time I think I would choose a low sodium broth/stock. A few other reviewers mentioned the sauce not thickening up after simmering. Since the chicken is coated and browned in corn starch, which is a thickener, I thought that may help thicken the sauce in the oven. But I went ahead and took a little extra chicken broth and corn starch and thickened the sauce just a tad before covering the chicken. I'm glad I did. It was the perfect consistency when removing from the oven. The sauce is so yummy I kept taste testing while it was simmering :) The thighs were nice and tender but I may consider using BLSL breasts next time. We think this recipe is restaurant quality and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Let me start out by saying I did NOT change this recipe! I did make a lot more because I started out with 36 chicken thighs cut up and therefore adjusted all the other ingredients accordingly! I was forced to slightly change the cooking method because of my needs so I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the cream until much later. I made everything according to the recipe (excluding the cream)a day ahead of time. Then today I put the chicken with its sauce in my 6-liter slow cooker on "keep warm" which gets it very hot. About 10 minutes before we were to eat, I added the cream (and a bit of sour cream - oops! That is a little change) For my large crowd this was PERFECT chicken! There was some leftover and everyone was asking if they could take it home which is always what I hope for - no leftovers at all! Thanks Faith! A perfect recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe was delicious! One of my daughter's, who is not a chicken fan, loved it. The only thing is the sauce didn't get thick at all for me. So I just poured it over the chicken as it was and let it bubble in the oven. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My kids totally loved this dish and are requesting it again. I steamed up some french green beans and placed them over a bed of steamed rice. I used boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. After taking the chicken out of the oven. I sliced it up and then topped with the sauce. I will definitely repeat this mean and next time try some different mushrooms and a larger quantity than called for in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I added some Parmesan to this (about 1/3 cup) but it wasn't necessary. Used cremini mushrooms. My lemon was small so I used all the juice... Not a good idea! The capers gave it a slightly odd taste. Been trying to find a recipe that makes me like capers, but it's not working. A good recipe, so I'll try it without capers and a just a teaspoon or two of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was so good. We try a variety of chicken recipes because I have a daughter who only eats chicken and fish. It was nice to find a recipe that was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This chicken dish is soo good! I actually double the chicken and add extra mushrooms. Very tender and the flavors are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States