Perfect Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Let me start out by saying I did NOT change this recipe! I did make a lot more because I started out with 36 chicken thighs cut up and therefore adjusted all the other ingredients accordingly! I was forced to slightly change the cooking method because of my needs so I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the cream until much later. I made everything according to the recipe (excluding the cream)a day ahead of time. Then today I put the chicken with its sauce in my 6-liter slow cooker on "keep warm" which gets it very hot. About 10 minutes before we were to eat, I added the cream (and a bit of sour cream - oops! That is a little change) For my large crowd this was PERFECT chicken! There was some leftover and everyone was asking if they could take it home which is always what I hope for - no leftovers at all! Thanks Faith! A perfect recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My kids totally loved this dish and are requesting it again. I steamed up some french green beans and placed them over a bed of steamed rice. I used boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. After taking the chicken out of the oven. I sliced it up and then topped with the sauce. I will definitely repeat this mean and next time try some different mushrooms and a larger quantity than called for in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this just as directed, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This chicken dish is soo good! I actually double the chicken and add extra mushrooms. Very tender and the flavors are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This dish was very nice! I loved the way the chicken crisped up with the cornstarch....a new method definitely. The ingredients all complimented one another very nicely. I would suggest cutting back a tad on the lemon juice. I made this recipe exactly as it was suggested and IMHO, the lemon amount was too much (capers add tartness on top of the lemon). I served the chicken with mushroom risotto and roasted asparagus and carrots. I will make again, only I will try over pasta (as the sauce doesn't thicken too much). I would suggest cutting the lemon by 1/4 and sticking to the other measurements exactly. Otherwise, I would recommend adding mascarpone. Thank you for sharing this lovely dish with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Served this tonight and everyone agreed~It IS Perfect Chicken! I didn't have fresh lemon so I used about 2 teaspoons of lemon juice and am glad I didn't add any more. It was just right. I also cut the heavy cream back to 1/2 cup and it thickened up quite nicely in the oven. Thank You for the Wonderful recipe, Faith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a little time intensive but WAAAAY better than just throwing a can of cream of mushroom soup. I used chicken breasts instead of thighs and it worked equally well. Excellent combination of ingredients and just plain white mushrooms work perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
My whole family loved this. I did change the spices only to accomadate what i had on hand but the sauce was wonderful. This made chicken taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I liked this but didn't love it and, quite honestly, don't think the result is worth the time. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
First off I have to say that the prep and cooking time are right on with this one. Don't pick this recipe if you are in a hurry for dinner. That being said it was worth the wait. I used 1 tablespoon each of fresh herbs as opposed to the dried and think this was a wise choice. I used onion powder in place of onions because my husband won't eat onions and left out the capers because I didn't have any. After reducing the broth it concentrated the sodium so next time I think I would choose a low sodium broth/stock. A few other reviewers mentioned the sauce not thickening up after simmering. Since the chicken is coated and browned in corn starch, which is a thickener, I thought that may help thicken the sauce in the oven. But I went ahead and took a little extra chicken broth and corn starch and thickened the sauce just a tad before covering the chicken. I'm glad I did. It was the perfect consistency when removing from the oven. The sauce is so yummy I kept taste testing while it was simmering :) The thighs were nice and tender but I may consider using BLSL breasts next time. We think this recipe is restaurant quality and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States