Perfect Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I didn't make the crust just the filling. My son loves cherry pie but I'm not a fan so I don't ever make it. I thought I would give this a try for him for Christmas. Glad I did because it was very good. Easy to make. I only could find 14.5 oz cans of cherries so that is what I used. Also subbed cornstarch for the potato starch. I also used a deep dish pie crust and almost couldn't fit all the cherries into it. The filling overflowed a little bit but not to much. Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I did do a few things differently when I made it for a second/third time, but that was just for me. The first time, when I followed it down to the wire, it was perfect, but I like other berries more than cherries so I'm not going to lower the rating for personal taste haha. The only big thing I did differently was leaving out the stone tiles, I don't have any and can't afford to buy them right now, and honestly it didn't make a difference. I recommend using real cherries though, if you have a juicer anyway. The last time I made this, I used the Magic Bullet to make a juice out of fresh cherries(pitted of course), strawberries, and black berries. Then I used the starch and sugar to make the paste. The paste did take a while to form and I noticed myself needing to add a bit more of the cornstarch to help it thicken. All in all, this was a great recipe and I loved the crust, although, I heavily blended all my ingredients, it helped to make it thicker and crunchy, but there is certainly nothing wrong with the fluffier original version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veggielady4life
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious!! The recipe was relatively easy, and the pie turned out wonderful! My husband loved it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggielady4life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This rating is for the filling only. I was looking for good recipe for cherry pie filling that does not use tapioca. This one is perfect! It's not too sweet nor is it too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I follwed the proportions from this and the filling was way too thick. The flavor was great, but really wtch how much you thicken the filling. I think I would also add a little more almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This recipe is a keeper. I made this pie as a gift and they loved it--couldn't say enough good about it. I did make a few changes but I am still going to give it 5 stars. I didn't have potato starch so I used corn starch; I didn't have shortening so I used 4 TB lard instead; and I used vanilla extract instead of almond extract based upon personal taste preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Made my own crust but used the filling in this recipe. I switched the almond essence for vanilla. The cherry filling was very easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I tried this recipe, thinking that the cream cheese in the crust may prove interesting. I wasn't impressed at all. If you like a standard flaky pie crust, chances are that you wont like this recipe. The cream cheese makes this a very heavy crust with very little flavor. And I wasnt really a fan of having to "freeze" the butter and shortening ahead of time. The flavor was good, however I wouldnt consider this recipe very easy.....not that it was hard, just a few too many steps for my taste.....My lesson learned.....stick to your standard pie dough recipe. As for the cherry pie filliing, I didnt find the instructions very explicit. I had to cook the cherry juice forever before it became a "paste"..this in turn left the cherry pie very thick and dry. My advice: Use a different recipe...this one strikes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Great easy recipe! Got rave reviews from everyone ( and I even burnt the crust) Made exactly as written! Will defiantly make this again!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
There's a reason this pie is called "Perfect Cherry Pie". Absolutely everything about it truly is perfect. The crust is perfect-flavorful and flaky. The filling is perfect-thick and sweet and tangy. Even the recipe is perfectly easy to follow. My boyfriend told me that it was one of the best cherry pies he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States