Perfect Cheesecake Everytime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Cheesecakemama, you sure have earned your moniker! I admit, I was skeptical about the baking method as well as the large amount of sour cream for just two packages of cream cheese. But you were right - this turned out perfectly just as you said it would! This is a light and creamy cheesecake, far different from some of the more dense, heavy and kind of dry cheesecakes. You were right on about the cheesecake not cracking too! Your recipe is perfect for any baker, novice or experienced. For my own preference, however, the crust was a little thicker than I would like, so next time it will be easy enough to cut it back to maybe one cup of crumbs to suit my tastes, but others may like it just as is. Delicious on it's own or with any variety of toppings, I served this with Supreme Strawberry Topping, recipe also from this site. I'm so happy your wonderful recipe got published - not just for you, but for the hundreds of home bakers I know are going to be pleased with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I used cinnamon grahams and chopped pecans, as cheesecakemama recommended in her own review/update of her recipe. I made no other changes. First attempt at a real-real cheesecake and honestly, I don't know why I was so worried about making one. It's really not all that difficult. I followed the directions exact. When the cheesecake was finished cooling, I spread Supreme Strawberry Topping all over the top, as my sister in law LOVES strawberry cheesecake. No idea how it tastes, but just because it was so simple and not scary to prepare, it's earned all five stars. I'll update my review once I hear from my SIL how much she loved it. NOTE: She loved it, as did my brother in law. Rock on! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. I use pecans not walnuts, but you can use any kind of nuts you like in the crust or leave them out, it just gives it more texture. You can change up the recipe and use different things for the crust, shortbread cookies or oreos come to mind. You can also add different flavors to the cheesecake, use my recipe as a base and have some fun! I recently have discovered for a short cut if I add another cup of sour cream to the recipe and use the 2 of the ready made crusts. I have a great dessert really quick for a carryin or party. Remember it freezes well, freeze in slices for a special treat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I'd never made a cheesecake before in my life but finally got nerve enough to try one. I reviewed many but settled on this one because it seemed simple and straightforward. While it was relatively simple, the flavor was anything but. This cheesecake was fantastic and certainly a crowd-pleaser. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Bueno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The proportions of your ingredients is almost exactly the same as the recipe I've used for years, so I'm sure it's great, BUT yikes! I teach food safety, and I would never recommend leaving anything with eggs or dairy products in an oven overnight or at room temperature for as many hours. CAUTION! Finish cooking, and refrigerate after it cools. Otherwise, you'll be playing kitchen roulette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was simply the BEST and easiest cheesecake I have ever made!! I always make NY style, and thought that was the end all to be all UNTIL I was recommended this one!! To die for! Didn't change a thing, except that I baked it for 45 mins. and then shut the oven off and let it sit overnight! Made some strawberries and glaze to top it off with whipped cream, and VOILA!!! Perfection! Thanks Cheesecakemama! You truly live up to your name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had a hard time deciding on a rating for this cheesecake ... I give 3 stars for "average" recipes that I might or might not try again. This cheesecake could be spectacular - for someone who likes very light, airy cheesecake. My husband and I prefer a denser, NY-type cake. I knew this wasn't going to be incredibly dense by the ratio of cream cheese and sour cream, but I guess I didn't expect it to be SO very light. It was very easy to throw together and neither of us is complaining about having to eat the rest of it, but I won't make it again. So 4 stars for what it is: a light, airy, fluffy, tangy *slightly* reminiscent of a pudding dessert, but 3 stars for what it was in comparison to what we consider a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I am not a fan of cheesecake, but my mother loves it. I made this for her as a surprise welcome home dessert when she was sent to Ohio recently for a training seminar for work. After she got done raving about how wonderful the texture and flavor of this cheesecake are, she convinced me to take a small taste. I immediately went into the kitchen and cut a big piece for myself afterwards! Excellent recipe that I will absolutely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is an excellent and easy cheesecake. I'd never made cheesecake before and CCMama gave me this recipe and detailed instructions. I actually followed the instructions (for once!). Came out perfectly! Bf is the cheesecake fan, so I made it for him, but I also liked it. It didn't crack and came out very nicely. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Cheesecakemama gave me this recipe on the Recipe Exchange more than a year ago, and I have made it many times with excellent results. This is now my no-fail, turn-to method for perfect cheesecake - and if a bungling baker like me can do it, anyone can. Thank you! xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States