Perfect Cheesecake Everytime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It was so difficult to turn the oven off at only 30 minutes! It was even harder to not peek! I had to trust the other reviewers on this and turn the oven off and not peek, and I was at war with my curious nature. Trusting in something not yet seen or experienced = FAITH : ) When I put the cheesecake in the oven, on a lower shelf I placed a 9x13 pan of water filled with hot water. The air was dry here today and I didn't want to risk it cracking. It turned out absolutely beautiful. Not a crack one, a beautiful vanilla color, rather than the darker brown color I get from other recipes. It looks very professional. I haven't tasted it yet, I am reviewing on faith that it is delicious, but giving it 5 stars on ease and appearance. It it doesn't taste like a five star cheesecake, I'll update this review. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
UPDATE: EVERYONE WHO HAS HAD A PIECE OF THIS WANTS THE RECIPE (IT'S THAT GOOD!). :) OMIGOSH! This is absolutely FANTASTIC!!! I don't consider myself a exceptional baker, but I pulled this off like a pro! I've had BAD luck with cheesecakes in the past. Either they cracked, browned terribly or sunk in the middle. Not only is this cheesecake picture perfect, it has a silky texture and tastes DIVINE! If you follow CKM's directions TO THE LETTER, you'll be pleasantly surprised. AT MINIMUM, allow your cheesecake to rest for 6 hours (and NO peeking!). Also, BE SURE to bring your eggs, sour cream and cream cheese to ROOM temperature BEFORE you begin baking (ESPECIALLY your cream cheese)! Cold or even semi-cold cream cheese will NOT beat to a smooth consistency, leaving you with a lumpy textured cheesecake (yuck!). NOTE: It's natural to OVERBEAT lumpy batter (and it WILL be lumpy if you start with cold cream cheese!), but doing so will cause your cheesecake to crack. If your batter is lumpy, simply give it a quick whirl in a blender or fp - but not for too long or you'll end up with soup! I had to do this and my cheesecake turned out just fine. :) Cheesecakemama, I THOROUGHLY enjoyed your recipe and can't WAIT to try some of your suggestions to make this my OWN! HEISLORD5's supreme strawberry topping was the perfect crowning touch (it was BEAUTIFUL!!!). Thanks again, CKM. There IS a reason you are the cheesecake queen and for that, I am completely indebted to you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was delicious. It did not crack and I had many compliments! will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen DeLaCova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
[5/13/12] Very good. Followed recipe as is. Used 1 bag of graham crackers (8 sheets), needed a little more butter. Added walnut pieces. Softer than usual NY cheesecake, but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I just wanted to say Thank You for this recipe it is amazing. This was my first cheesecake it turned out delicious, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was my first cheesecake, and it turned out perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Absolutely perfect cheesecake! This is simple, elegant and delicious. I've never made an easier cheesecake. I followed the recipe exactly and I loved the thickness of the crust. Not to thick, not to thin, perfect :o) I didn't have any pecans, but since that was optional I wasn't worried about leaving them out. I forgot to put the cinnamon in the crust so I added it to the filling and everyone loved it! Most people coldn't quite figure out what it was that made the filling unique. I was a little nervous about the cooking method but excited to turn the oven on for only 30 minutes in the heat of summer for this recipe! After leaving it in the oven for six hours to cool down it was perfectly cooked without a single crack! I can't say enough about how much I like this recipe. In my opinion, it's so much tastier than the heavy, dense NY style cheesecake. It was a hit with the birthday girl too! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had a hard time deciding on a rating for this cheesecake ... I give 3 stars for "average" recipes that I might or might not try again. This cheesecake could be spectacular - for someone who likes very light, airy cheesecake. My husband and I prefer a denser, NY-type cake. I knew this wasn't going to be incredibly dense by the ratio of cream cheese and sour cream, but I guess I didn't expect it to be SO very light. It was very easy to throw together and neither of us is complaining about having to eat the rest of it, but I won't make it again. So 4 stars for what it is: a light, airy, fluffy, tangy *slightly* reminiscent of a pudding dessert, but 3 stars for what it was in comparison to what we consider a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I'm shocked. I actually made a cheesecake that did not crack or turn too brown, etc., etc. All I did was follow the directions and it is wonderful. No water bath or babying in any way. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Cheesecakemama had to help me with this recipe. Only when I started, I didn't read the final instructions about shutting off the oven and letting it cool off prior to refrigerating it and keeping in the frig for 8 hours because I was cooking dinner in the process......TY Cheesecakemama for your help. IT was FANTASTIC...mine was slightly soft and creamy...and soo over the top delish. Here's my adjustments. But really I stayed true to the recipe 100%, my springform pan was bigger then a 9 inch, It was a 12-in. I doubled ONLY the crust, added both optional ingredients...and the crust was soo good even with the pecans and cinnamon. And just by clear accident, not thinking as I reached for the Xylo Sweet(a natural Xylitol Sweetner) and not regular sugar, I used Xylo Sweet through out the whole thing...hmm YUM, I worked out beautifully. And I used fat-free cream cheese. And believe it or not, I didn't realize until I got to the sour cream, I didn't have any..that's not my norm. So I replaced it with plain Greek Yogurt. OMGosh!! My cheesecake was very sinfully---sin free. ;-) I also realized I over whipped my batter in the process and it cracked very little, like 2-3 inches across the top and didn't go down but 1/2 and inch. I covered it with a Greek Yogurt topping made with Ideal Brown Sugar Replacer and Ideal Confectioner's Sugar replacer...and it was to DIE FOR!! Thank you it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States