Perfect Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this as a gluten-free recipe. I used Sweet Rice flour in place of the whole wheat flour and Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free flour. I switched the veggie oil for Olive Oil. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted All spice. I added pecans instead of walnuts. Next time will try almonds!! And I only had part of a butternut squash left from another recipe so I added some yellow squash to make up the difference! I made mini-muffins and didn't even tell my family they were GF and EVERYONE loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti  Lind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bananasmiles
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Doubled recipe, added three ripe bananas so that I had 3 cups of a banana and butternut squash mixture. Used brown and raw sugars, and used equal parts coconut oil and salted butter instead of veggie oil because I don't keep that. I also did equal parts all purpose and wheat. Haha, I also added chopped almonds and 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut. Don't forget I soul led this recipe and it made 48 muffins filled 3/4 full, if not a tad more. Very light moist muffin. I bake continuously and this is the best banana/butternut squash muffin I've ever had. They baked perfectly in 16 minutes. I baked them in cupcake papers. Sooooooo good!!! I will use this recipe as a base from now on! Lol. These things made me giggle they're so good. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used gluten free flour and buckwheat flour, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup (to account for the chocolate chips that were added:) and halved the fat and replaced with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I did this with the modifications Madkj84 described in their review, and it was great! Although mine made 20 muffins, I guess I put a lot in each space. Really delicious, and no need to reduce the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by madkj84
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These really are perfect butternut squash muffins! I increased the amount of squash to 2 cups, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and best of all, I diced up an apple and folded it into the mixture right before spooning into the cups. Sprinkled a light amount of cinnamon and sugar over the top before baking and they baked in exactly 15 minutes. I ended up with 24 perfect muffins! The apple adds such a nice flavor when you bite into it. With my three guys, these were gone by the end of the day and they want more. Thanks for sharing a really perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These muffins are wonderful. I made one change to the recipe. I used 3 cups of butternut squash instead of the 1.5 cups listed. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. This made 28 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We loved this! Who says you can't have your veggies and cake together? We added "craisins" and sunflower seeds because we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amyg333
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I just made this recipe with a butternut squash from my garden and it makes the most delicious moist muffins! I used a whole squash and followed the directions as listed, and ended up with about 30 muffins. They are perfect for breakfast. My husband wanted to sweeten them up a bit so we add a cinnamon / sugar mix to the top of a few and they were great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe made 1, 9x5 loaf and 1 mini loaf. Bake mini loaf for 30 min. and big loaf for 50 min. I used apple butter in place of oil and it turned out great! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I had to play with the servings a bit to get the end result of muffins I was looking for. I ended on seven servings which gave me 12 medium sized muffins. BE AWARE THE SERVING AMOUNT ON THIS RECIPE IS NOT CORRECT. I actually used a whole roasted butternut squash which worked out perfectly. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and increased the pumpkin pie spice. Before baking, I sprinkled each muffin mound with cinnamon-sugar. These turned out excellent--very moist, slightly chewy, good breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States