Perfect Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by madkj84
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These really are perfect butternut squash muffins! I increased the amount of squash to 2 cups, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and best of all, I diced up an apple and folded it into the mixture right before spooning into the cups. Sprinkled a light amount of cinnamon and sugar over the top before baking and they baked in exactly 15 minutes. I ended up with 24 perfect muffins! The apple adds such a nice flavor when you bite into it. With my three guys, these were gone by the end of the day and they want more. Thanks for sharing a really perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These muffins are wonderful. I made one change to the recipe. I used 3 cups of butternut squash instead of the 1.5 cups listed. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. This made 28 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I had to play with the servings a bit to get the end result of muffins I was looking for. I ended on seven servings which gave me 12 medium sized muffins. BE AWARE THE SERVING AMOUNT ON THIS RECIPE IS NOT CORRECT. I actually used a whole roasted butternut squash which worked out perfectly. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and increased the pumpkin pie spice. Before baking, I sprinkled each muffin mound with cinnamon-sugar. These turned out excellent--very moist, slightly chewy, good breakfast muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe made 1, 9x5 loaf and 1 mini loaf. Bake mini loaf for 30 min. and big loaf for 50 min. I used apple butter in place of oil and it turned out great! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used gluten free flour and buckwheat flour, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup (to account for the chocolate chips that were added:) and halved the fat and replaced with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these today, the only adjustment I made was using half whole wheat and half white flour. (1 1/2 cups of each). They were quite delicious! I can easily see me adding other goodies to these if I have no nuts or raisins. Poppy seeds, chia, sunflower etc. For an extra specail look I'd even consider an oatmeal crumb topping. I'm confident this is a really versatile recipe! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We loved this! Who says you can't have your veggies and cake together? We added "craisins" and sunflower seeds because we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amyg333
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I just made this recipe with a butternut squash from my garden and it makes the most delicious moist muffins! I used a whole squash and followed the directions as listed, and ended up with about 30 muffins. They are perfect for breakfast. My husband wanted to sweeten them up a bit so we add a cinnamon / sugar mix to the top of a few and they were great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this as a gluten-free recipe. I used Sweet Rice flour in place of the whole wheat flour and Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free flour. I switched the veggie oil for Olive Oil. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted All spice. I added pecans instead of walnuts. Next time will try almonds!! And I only had part of a butternut squash left from another recipe so I added some yellow squash to make up the difference! I made mini-muffins and didn't even tell my family they were GF and EVERYONE loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti  Lind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I did this with the modifications Madkj84 described in their review, and it was great! Although mine made 20 muffins, I guess I put a lot in each space. Really delicious, and no need to reduce the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States