Perfect Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Too moist and very lacking in sweetness and texture. Sorry guys. They looked like the picture here, but the taste was a little gross. My son (3yr) enjoyed it but he likes bland things, so I want surprised. Also, why not just use the pumpkin pie spice, it has nutmeg, cinnamon& cloves in it? Just increase amount of PP spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dylanscook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The muffins were mushy. I cooked them at 350 for a bit longer instead of 400 for 15. Because I put my fork in and they were cooked but when I took 'em out and split to see texture, it was mushy. Not my style of texture especially when it comes to muffins with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe. We have lots of winter squashes from the garden. I used a Rugosa squash, which is very similar to a Butternut but larger and rougher looking on the outside. The flavor was perfect for these muffins. These are easy to make and very, very tasty and healthy, too. I made some in a regular muffin pan and others in my muffin top pan which we love. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Made with 3 cups of squash. Followed recipe as directed & made some with nuts, raisens & some left plain. Definitely better with additions. This is a great recipe to get creative with & use up squash. Suggested add-ins: dried fruit, vanilla or maple flavoring, coconut. Decrease ground cloves to 1/4t. increase pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These muffins really were great! I liked the balance of the spices. I was confused because in one spot the recipe said it would make ten muffins but in another spot it said 20. However, I halved it and got ten, so it seems the latter was correct. I used apple butter in place of the vegetable oil, as one reviewer suggested, added a tablespoon of coconut oil and decreased the sugar, using only brown. Also used a whole small squash, in spite of halving the other ingredients. A dense muffin but a delicious one and a great way to hide squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these today, the only adjustment I made was using half whole wheat and half white flour. (1 1/2 cups of each). They were quite delicious! I can easily see me adding other goodies to these if I have no nuts or raisins. Poppy seeds, chia, sunflower etc. For an extra specail look I'd even consider an oatmeal crumb topping. I'm confident this is a really versatile recipe! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this as a gluten-free recipe. I used Sweet Rice flour in place of the whole wheat flour and Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free flour. I switched the veggie oil for Olive Oil. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted All spice. I added pecans instead of walnuts. Next time will try almonds!! And I only had part of a butternut squash left from another recipe so I added some yellow squash to make up the difference! I made mini-muffins and didn't even tell my family they were GF and EVERYONE loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti  Lind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bananasmiles
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Doubled recipe, added three ripe bananas so that I had 3 cups of a banana and butternut squash mixture. Used brown and raw sugars, and used equal parts coconut oil and salted butter instead of veggie oil because I don't keep that. I also did equal parts all purpose and wheat. Haha, I also added chopped almonds and 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut. Don't forget I soul led this recipe and it made 48 muffins filled 3/4 full, if not a tad more. Very light moist muffin. I bake continuously and this is the best banana/butternut squash muffin I've ever had. They baked perfectly in 16 minutes. I baked them in cupcake papers. Sooooooo good!!! I will use this recipe as a base from now on! Lol. These things made me giggle they're so good. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used gluten free flour and buckwheat flour, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup (to account for the chocolate chips that were added:) and halved the fat and replaced with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I did this with the modifications Madkj84 described in their review, and it was great! Although mine made 20 muffins, I guess I put a lot in each space. Really delicious, and no need to reduce the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States