Perfect Butternut Squash Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These muffins are nice and yummy. No one else in my household has been eating them that much, but that just means more for me. I probably should have frozen half to keep them fresher longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Too moist and very lacking in sweetness and texture. My son (3yr) enjoyed it but he likes bland things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dylanscook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The muffins were mushy. I cooked them at 350 for a bit longer instead of 400 for 15. Because I put my fork in and they were cooked but when I took 'em out and split to see texture, it was mushy. Not my style of texture especially when it comes to muffins with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe. We have lots of winter squashes from the garden. I used a Rugosa squash, which is very similar to a Butternut but larger and rougher looking on the outside. The flavor was perfect for these muffins. These are easy to make and very, very tasty and healthy, too. I made some in a regular muffin pan and others in my muffin top pan which we love. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Made with 3 cups of squash. Followed recipe as directed & made some with nuts, raisens & some left plain. Definitely better with additions. This is a great recipe to get creative with & use up squash. Suggested add-ins: dried fruit, vanilla or maple flavoring, coconut. Decrease ground cloves to 1/4t. increase pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
These muffins really were great! I liked the balance of the spices. I was confused because in one spot the recipe said it would make ten muffins but in another spot it said 20. However, I halved it and got ten, so it seems the latter was correct. I used apple butter in place of the vegetable oil, as one reviewer suggested, added a tablespoon of coconut oil and decreased the sugar, using only brown. Also used a whole small squash, in spite of halving the other ingredients. A dense muffin but a delicious one and a great way to hide squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these today, the only adjustment I made was using half whole wheat and half white flour. (1 1/2 cups of each). They were quite delicious! I can easily see me adding other goodies to these if I have no nuts or raisins. Poppy seeds, chia, sunflower etc. For an extra specail look I'd even consider an oatmeal crumb topping. I'm confident this is a really versatile recipe! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this as a gluten-free recipe. I used Sweet Rice flour in place of the whole wheat flour and Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free flour. I switched the veggie oil for Olive Oil. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted All spice. I added pecans instead of walnuts. Next time will try almonds!! And I only had part of a butternut squash left from another recipe so I added some yellow squash to make up the difference! I made mini-muffins and didn't even tell my family they were GF and EVERYONE loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti  Lind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bananasmiles
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Doubled recipe, added three ripe bananas so that I had 3 cups of a banana and butternut squash mixture. Used brown and raw sugars, and used equal parts coconut oil and salted butter instead of veggie oil because I don't keep that. I also did equal parts all purpose and wheat. Haha, I also added chopped almonds and 3/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut. Don't forget I soul led this recipe and it made 48 muffins filled 3/4 full, if not a tad more. Very light moist muffin. I bake continuously and this is the best banana/butternut squash muffin I've ever had. They baked perfectly in 16 minutes. I baked them in cupcake papers. Sooooooo good!!! I will use this recipe as a base from now on! Lol. These things made me giggle they're so good. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I used gluten free flour and buckwheat flour, reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup (to account for the chocolate chips that were added:) and halved the fat and replaced with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States