Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I have never grated butter before, but it was a good idea for this recipe. These turned out so good my husband doesn't usually like sweets but he raved over this. I didn't use frozen berries, just fresh and by the time they sat in sugar they had made a really nice juice on their own. I served this with Easy Whipped Cream from this site and it was one of the best desserts I've made. Update: I made this a second time for the fouth of July and doubled the recipe. Make sure to freeze the butter before grating. I tried it both ways and it is much easier to grate the butter when it is frozen. It took a lot less time and it was a lot less messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Oh. My. God. This is the best shortcake I have EVER tasted!!! I didn't follow the berry instructions (I just used fresh strawberries with sugar & topped w/ whipped cream), just the biscuit instructions. A couple minor changes: I didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 so I used 2% milk - it worked perfectly. I didn't freeze the butter, but I did used very cold butter. Loved the grating technique. I also added to the recipe a bit of vanilla extract and about a scant 1/2 tsp of ground cardamom. I had never tried the cardamom before but had seen it in other shortcake recipes. Wow, was it ever a great addition. Anyway, this was soooo yummy. I will never look for a shortcake recipe again. One other thing - use cooking spray on the baking sheet. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I only used the shortcake part of this recipe and they were so good! I just dropped the dough in little flattened balls to save time. The egg white and sugar were a really nice touch too. Sprinkling two tablespoons of sugar over six cakes felt like a lot of sugar, but it wasn't at all once they were baked. I served it with homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This is the best shortcake ever! I followed the shortcake recipe exactly, but improvised on the berries. I omitted the frozen berries and used fresh raspberries, marion berries and strawberries- a pint each with 2T sugar stirred in. The shortcake is so tender and wonderful. I was so proud to serve this to my husband. It would be perfect for guests. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This recipe is exactly what I've been looking for to make great strawberry shortcake! I only used a fork to cut in the butter and the butter was not frozen -- just used it straight from the refrigerator. I also just molded 6 rounded "patties" and baked on the baking sheet and they were perfect! Thank you for such a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Wow! These are so good! I loved the tip of freezing and grating the butter. I thought about skipping that, but am so glad I didn't. It works amazingly well and I've since used that trick with other recipes. Sugar sprinkled on top makes them good enough to eat without the berries (which my husband doesn't like). This recipe got raves at my house and from my company. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly and it is AMAZING! I did sift together the dry ingredients, but that's just my preference. Also, instead of placing the dough into a loaf pan and cutting into squares, I just made 6 large hand shaped biscuits. Cook time was the same. This recipe was soooo easy and fast. Definitely recommend the egg wash with sugar sprinkled on top...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
really good, but kinda dry and don't roll the dough just squish the dough in to balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was unbelievable...everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I followed the recipe for the shortcakes exactly and it was incredibly easy, and a huge hit for my July 4th party - will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States