Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Perfect as written. Thankyou Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilkSmoke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The shortcakes were the best part of this recipe.. I will never buy another straberry shortcake again...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Perfect Shortcake recipe! Tender, perfectly sweet and very easy with excellent results every time. Don't forget the egg white brush/sugar before baking! We will continue to use this recipe over and over with all type of fruit. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were okay. Since strawberries have come down in price I was dying to make a dessert. I followed the directions for the shortcakes and just used fresh strawberries with homemade whipped cream. First, my shortcakes took REALLY long to bake. at 12 minutes they were completely under-baked, at 15 minutes they still seemed really soft and not brown at all. At around 18 minutes I finally took them out (I wanted them to be slightly golden on top). These have almost no taste to them, not a shortcake taste at least. There is WAY too much butter, mine were very greasy. And they aren't sweet, in fact the biscuits I usually make are sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was quick and easy and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The biscuits in this recipe were phenomenal! Buttery, flaky, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, mmmm. I added a little cardamom to the dough because I like it with fruit desserts. I made my normal strawberry mixture: Strawberries, Gran Marnier, sugar, lemon juice and a pinch of salt. I will definitely be making this biscuit recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made the shortcake portion of this recipe and it is by far the best shortcake I have ever had. I didn't read the directions very well and added the egg white to the egg and milk mixture. They still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These are excellent!! Don't over mix the dough, as that will cause them to become dense. I follow the recipe exactly, sometimes adding a bit more milk a tiny bit at a time to get the dough to come together nicely. I roll into balls and flatten once on my baking sheet, and then dust with sugar. They have excellent flavor, are moist and light. I make a strawberry sauce from fresh or frozen berries, as well I slice fresh berries. I split the shortcakes horizontally, spoon on the sauce over the bottom shortcake, then the sliced berries next, and finally a nice dallop of fresh whipped cream and then top with the pretty sugared top. Very beautiful presentation and so very divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States