Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe was good, but I liked the shortcake better without the berries and whipped topping. The salty flavor of the cake overwhelmed the entire dessert. Will make these again, but not for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was delicious! and very easy to make. I just used the shortbread recipe though, and used fresh strawberrys instead. I will definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is really delicious! I put in 1/4 tsp of cardamom for a special flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
these were so rich I could hardly stand it. Not sweet, very biscuit-ish, but very rich with strawberries on top. My husband still prefers sponge cake (YUCK) but these are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Oh my God!!! This was wonderful!! I love the grating the butter! They were tender and sweet. I only added 3 tablespoons of sugar to the cakes and sprinkled pearl sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I did only make the cakes not the berry part!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used this shortcake recipe and topped it with strawberries, balsalmic vinegar, sugar and a tiny bit of black pepper and whipped cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakonda, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I used fresh strawberries, and since I didn't have any frozen ones but still wanted the juice, I put some of the berries in the food processor and added it back to the rest of the strawberries. Perfect! I also used whole milk instead of half and half, and it turned out great as well. My husband liked it (there's not much, especially desserts, that he doesn't like!). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this as written. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These turned out beautiful, and they are so easy to prepare! I can't stand those store bought sponge things they market as shortcake. For me they were neither too dry or plain, just sweet enough and complimented the strawberries nicely with real whipped cream. Thank you for posting this recipe, I've used it time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Biscuits are too dry, too plain. If it could all be a little more delicate and flavorful, that would fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States