Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Great, traditional shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong. The shortcake is more like a dry biscuit. (Although I didn't add the sheen) the "candied" berries on the dry bisquit wasn't a good match. Noone touched these :-( HOWEVER! the "shortcake" recipe is a good and easy recipe for biscuits! ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum!! I followed the recipe except didn't have half & half, so used 1% milk and it was fine. I also sprayed the baking pan with a small amount of non-stick spray. Instead of cutting them in half, we just crumbled it. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
as written this was great. easy to make, grated butter worked very well. this tasted more like biscuits we like more of a shortcake. will not be making this for shortcake, but hoping to figure out something to use this with as the flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Reminds me of the shortcakes that my mom used to make, only a bit better. HOWEVER, I have come to prefer a homemade angelfood cake or etc. They are more fussy, but if I don't have time for them, I'd rather just have strawberries and a touch of whipped cream with a cookie........... But that's just me. If I hadn't been served strawberries with light and airy cakes several times of late, I don't think I could have been swayed..... I did enjoy my mother's strawberry shortcakes through the years, but who knew? now I'm converted....... Thanks for a nice shortcake to help me come to my conclusion though........ If my mom comes through when we have a lot of berries, I might make this recipe just for her........ I'm sure she'd love it, and it's certainly not bad eatin' - I've just been nudged in another direction of late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Yum! Just made these and they came out great! I made them slightly smaller and got about 8 out of each batch (doubled the recipe so I could take these to a party). I watched them closely while cooking to make sure that they didn't overcook. I mixed some chopped spearmint leaves in with the whipped cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Easy and delicious!! I had to keep the husband and kids away until desert! I formed it into one round and cut into 8 pie peices then separated on a cookie sheet and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved the shortcake!! I didn't go all out with the berry combo, but just used a simple strawberry in sugar to top. Shared with a friend and her two little picky eaters - they all gave big thumbs up and smiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome! SO good and SO easy to make. What a pleasure to whip up a tasty desert with so little time and effort. No need to go hunting for another shortcake recipe-- this one ROCKS! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very easy to make, tasted great, the only reason it got 4/5 stars was because the cake part was very crumbly, made it a bit difficult to both cut and eat. Other than that, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States