Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Excellent. No recipes adjustments needed. I like a lot of shortbread with my berries, so this recipe only yielded 4 shortcakes... but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe. I only made the biscuits for it then used sweetened strawberries and whipped cream. I didn't have any baking powder (can you believe that??!) so I used half the amount of baking soda as a substitute. I also just cut the butter in and it worked out fine. It wasn't too sweet or too dry and it was perfect for short cakes! We loved the flavor of these...I will be making these again! Maybe next time I will follow the recipe exactly but I don't know how they could get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These biscuits are absolutely delicious! The recipe is great as is, but I did make two minor changes based on my own preferences. I used milk instead of half and half since I never have it on hand, and I cooked it in an 8x8 pan as one large biscuit instead of separating it. Other than that I followed the biscuit recipe exactly and they are absolute perfection! We ate ours with whipped cream and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I only used the biscuit recipe, and it may have been because I used margarine, but there's far to much liquid in the recipe. I only used 1/4 cup of liquid and the mixture was still very moist. I also found that the biscuit needed more sugar as it was plain and floury. Otherwise, it had a decent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Thank you! This was awesome. My family loved it. I didn't have half and half so I just used milk and it turned out great. I loved the idea of using the grater for the butter. The shortcakes are so light. They are absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ludlow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Best shortcake recipe I've ever tried. Did I mention how easy it was? grating the butter into the mix is GENIUS! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I have used it twice in a week of discovering it. I did not use half and half but a quarter cup of skim mix with double cream. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
The most delish shortcake biscuit I have found yet. Delicate and light, fluffy with a deicious tender crust. THANKYOU, allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
That Shortcake! is easy and tastes great.. I had one difference with it..I don't care for as much shortcake as some to with the strawberries...This recipe easily doubled the servings as displayed..Soft.. sweet.. and keep better than the usual ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Anson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicious old school recipe. I used fresh picked strawberries instead of frozen mixed berries. Even my BF who doesn't care for dessert loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States