Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Grating the butter was a pain, but at least I didn't have to roll out the dough. The shortcakes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made it this morning for my boyfriend, without whipped cream - he loved it and asked for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are good...very much like a tender scone. I left about a teaspoon of butter out of the dough, because it became hard to grate, and I got lazy! But I melted and used to brush the top of the cakes before sprinkling with a dusting of sugar. I used about 1/4 cup sugar in the dough and a splash of vanilla and just a small amount on top of dough. I'm not really crazy about an egg wash on my shortcakes, so I didn't use the egg white--the sugar adhered fine using the melted butter. I also used about a cup of cake flour for part of the AP flour for a really tender shortcake. We ate them warm from the oven with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream and enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foxlair
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
THE best and easiest shortcake I have ever tried-all other recipes get tossed -this one is definitely a keeper. Followed the recipe exactly except I used light cream since I had it on hand. Would not change a thing! Light as a feather texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxlair
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
wow, these rose up nice and high, great texture, nice butter flavour! Grating the butter (mine was cold, not frozen) was an easy way of mixing...love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These were amazing and so so easy to make. I have never attempted a shortbread before and had absolutely no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Perfect as written. Thankyou Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilkSmoke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The shortcakes were the best part of this recipe.. I will never buy another straberry shortcake again...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Perfect Shortcake recipe! Tender, perfectly sweet and very easy with excellent results every time. Don't forget the egg white brush/sugar before baking! We will continue to use this recipe over and over with all type of fruit. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States