Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had never tried making shortcakes before. I used my Cusinart to grate the butter, so that took me a few seconds to do. I followed the recipe and they came out fantastic. Beautiful, but casual and delicious dessert. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
UNBELIEVABLE!! I have NEVER tasted such a fantastic shortcake recipe EVER! So flaky and moist - I used real butter and whole milk as I didn't have half-and-half but turned out great. I did my own fruit recipe but if you want a fantastic shortcake, this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
After reading all the wonderful reviews, I was disappointed in these. I expected them to be sweeter. They were just a regular old biscuit. The only really good part was the outside that had been dusted with sugar. My husband took a tiny bite and wouldn't even eat one. I think if it's going to be a dessert biscuit, it should be much sweeter... and more "melt in your mouth." I will look for another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Mmm-mmm! Simple to make and absolutely delicious! I just used all frozen strawberries, and it was great. Highly recommneded!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
So quick and easy to make. My husband told me I'm not allowed to buy store bought cakes ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Grating the butter was a pain, but at least I didn't have to roll out the dough. The shortcakes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made it this morning for my boyfriend, without whipped cream - he loved it and asked for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are good...very much like a tender scone. I left about a teaspoon of butter out of the dough, because it became hard to grate, and I got lazy! But I melted and used to brush the top of the cakes before sprinkling with a dusting of sugar. I used about 1/4 cup sugar in the dough and a splash of vanilla and just a small amount on top of dough. I'm not really crazy about an egg wash on my shortcakes, so I didn't use the egg white--the sugar adhered fine using the melted butter. I also used about a cup of cake flour for part of the AP flour for a really tender shortcake. We ate them warm from the oven with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream and enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foxlair
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
THE best and easiest shortcake I have ever tried-all other recipes get tossed -this one is definitely a keeper. Followed the recipe exactly except I used light cream since I had it on hand. Would not change a thing! Light as a feather texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxlair

Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States