Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I just used the shortcake recipe, not the berry recipe. It was amazing! Next time I will sift the dry ingredients...there were a few baking powder clumps. I tossed fresh strawberries with sugar and a touch of balsalmic vinagar instead of the frozen/fresh mized berries.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
So easy and so delicious. I love the technique of grating butter, it makes a perfect biscuit. I used the leftover biscuits for breakfast the next morning, toasted with some jam or fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I just used the shortbread recipe and it was perfect. I loved the eggwhite wash with the sugar crystals. Made for a nice crunchy crust with the macerated strawberries on top. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent!!!!!! These are the best shortcakes that I have ever made, or ever had. The extra sugar on top made them crunchy. My husband loved them! We went to the Strawberry Festival in Plant City, Florida over the weekend and my husband declined a strawberry shortcake there. He said he would rather have the ones that I made instead. I also made my own strawberries recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good. Instead of cutting the dough and making this perfect looking we just dropped the batter on the sheet and cooked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Silver Hamlin
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I am glad I searched for a recipe rather than using my mom's shortcake recipe, after-all. (Don't tell her I said so, but this recipe is waay better than hers. haha) I only used 16 ounces of fresh strawberries and no frozen berries, and this was enough for 5 of the 6 cakes. The sixth cake was good just with cool whip on it though. (I used store-bought whip cream.) Absolutely delicious! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is the way my mom always made shortcake, very simple but good - and not too sweet. I didn't have the kind of butter that could be frozen so I took a chance and just used regular butter, I don't know if that made a huge difference.. Also didn't bake them they way it said, just made them like cookies and had big balls of it, the same way you'd make cookies but bigger. Used fresh berries with a little sprinkle of sugar. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
AMAZING!! I was just craving something sweet after dinner and whipped these up in 5 minutes, but they're delicious and beautiful enough for company. They came out PERFECTLY crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. My boyfriend couldn't stop talking about how "frickin' yummy" these were! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent shortcake recipe. I mady my own strawberry topping with about 2 lbs ripe strawberries and 5 tbl sugar. I put about 60% of the strawberries in between the layers of the cake and the rest I cooked and pureed for a yummy strawberry syrup. I put whipped cream on top of the shortcake and then drizzled a heaping spoonfull of syrup over it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States