Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very delicious shortcake!! I did use milk instead of half-and-half and did not freeze the butter and grate it, but just used softened butter. Unlike many shortcakes (which dry out overnight) this one was just as delicious the next day. I will definitely be making this again; it was wonderful. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Best dessert I've ever made! Thank you for sharing this recipe with the world. I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot to put vanilla in my whipped cream (didn't matter too much!). It was so divine. I asked my boyfriend what he thought after taking a few bites, and he said, "FIVE" (with his mouth full), meaning five stars on AllRecipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very tasty and easy. Although I have a pastry blender and am comfortable using it, I tried this method this time. I will probably use my pastry blender in the future because I think that is easier than grating frozen butter. I had fresh strawberries from our farmer's market and really used only the recipe for the shortcake. Also I added 1/2 cup cocoa to make chocolate shortcakes. Strawberries, chocolate and whipped topping = YUM! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I did not change a thing and they came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have half and half for the shortbread, so I took a chance and used 1% milk. It was delicious! A definite keeper. Much better than those weird sponge cakes at the store and just as easy as a Bisquick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe with the exception of using non-hydrogenated margarine instead of butter. The shortcakes had a wonderful crunch to the outside, and a soft, moist inside. For the filling I purchased some fresh, NOT frozen, cherries. I simply cut them in half (2 cups of cherries), threw away the pits, and tossed them into a sauce pan with some mix berry 100% juice, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar, and a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cherries simmer on the stove on low heat for 45 minutes. I'm going to save this recipe and make these shortcakes again for family over vacation. Thank you for sharing! (For a softer shortcake, place them in an air tight container and the next day, they will be super soft! You can also add a slice of bread to the container.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaRubia
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I only followed the biscuit recipie and thawed frozen strawberries and used ready whipped cream and a little icecream :) just like at my favorite resturaunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRubia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
*I just made the shortbread* Excellent. Easy, tender shortcake. I pressed the dough into flattened balls, besides that, I followed the directions exactly and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Perfect shortcakes, like a biscuit. My five year old said it was his favorite cake I ever made. Will definitely become a summer staple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good recipe and easy using the grated butter technique. Its more like a scone or shortbread with just enough sweetness to compliment the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States