Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome! SO good and SO easy to make. What a pleasure to whip up a tasty desert with so little time and effort. No need to go hunting for another shortcake recipe-- this one ROCKS! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very easy to make, tasted great, the only reason it got 4/5 stars was because the cake part was very crumbly, made it a bit difficult to both cut and eat. Other than that, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made the shortcake only. I followed the recipe up to the roll out part. I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper to the thickness I wanted, then flipped the circle onto a piece of parchment on a cookie sheet. I cut the circle into manageable pieces, sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked according to directions. Delish! BTW shredding the butter is a great idea. I always have frozen butter in the freezer. I'd rather do that then cut with a pastry cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe turns out terrible if you happen to use baking soda instead of baking powder. Oops. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
We all really enjoyed this. The biscuits turn out VERY crumbly, so be careful when you're cutting them open. The cream too SO long to make - definitely recommend putting the bowl/spoon in the freezer beforehand to speed things up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are wonderful shortcakes! Press the dough out to the 8 x 4 rectangle on wax paper (easier clean-up). Instead of spraying the pan with propellent chemicals or using grease, these did great just putting the squares onto parchment paper (and easier clean-up). Definitely do the "optional" egg white thing, and when the dough needed more moisture to stick together I just threw in the egg yolk instead of more 1/2&1/2 - just fine and no waste. Husband said that shortcakes are usually bland and "meh", but these were wonderful little butter cakes with biscuit appearance and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I don't care what other people said negatively about this recipe but I made it like it said and added the extra half and half (I used whole milk) and it is amazing. The key is not to handle the dough too much, just enough to squish the dough together until it sticks to itself. Gently push it into shape and cut it and separate the 6 pieces. Do this as quickly as possible so the butter doesn't melt. Brush the egg whites on and the sugar and you have perfection in a short cake. Moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I'm sorry to say this, but my friends and I were not a fan of this recipe. It was very dry and bland. I followed the recipe exactly and the results just were not good. Sorry. (This review is for the shortcakes only.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GriffsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I've made this twice now, both times to great reviews but serving them warm was the best!! I use UNbleached flour and can't tell any difference in appearance, they are golden brown and delicious. I didn't roll out just hand-patted six shortcakes - cleanup was breeze - one bowl, one measuring cup/spoons and no food processor to take apart and clean. The egg white wash/sugar topping is worth the extra effort. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very yummy, although mine turned out a bit crumbly. WOuld definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States