Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Delicious! Perfect biscuit-style shortcake recipe! I used half the amount of sugar and it was still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Perfect shortcakes! I baked a little less time, for lighter color than "golden brown". I will use the grated frozen butter technique from now on in many recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I did as one reviewer done. I patted it in an 8x8 pan. I will say grating frozen butter is a PIA. Next time I will use a pastry cutter and just cut in cold butter then has been cut into cubes. I added 4 TBSP of sugar to the dough and did not sprinkle any on top. I think it had fantastic flavor. This will definitely be one I use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Made this several times. Always turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Excellent. No recipes adjustments needed. I like a lot of shortbread with my berries, so this recipe only yielded 4 shortcakes... but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe. I only made the biscuits for it then used sweetened strawberries and whipped cream. I didn't have any baking powder (can you believe that??!) so I used half the amount of baking soda as a substitute. I also just cut the butter in and it worked out fine. It wasn't too sweet or too dry and it was perfect for short cakes! We loved the flavor of these...I will be making these again! Maybe next time I will follow the recipe exactly but I don't know how they could get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These biscuits are absolutely delicious! The recipe is great as is, but I did make two minor changes based on my own preferences. I used milk instead of half and half since I never have it on hand, and I cooked it in an 8x8 pan as one large biscuit instead of separating it. Other than that I followed the biscuit recipe exactly and they are absolute perfection! We ate ours with whipped cream and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I only used the biscuit recipe, and it may have been because I used margarine, but there's far to much liquid in the recipe. I only used 1/4 cup of liquid and the mixture was still very moist. I also found that the biscuit needed more sugar as it was plain and floury. Otherwise, it had a decent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Thank you! This was awesome. My family loved it. I didn't have half and half so I just used milk and it turned out great. I loved the idea of using the grater for the butter. The shortcakes are so light. They are absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Lunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Best shortcake recipe I've ever tried. Did I mention how easy it was? grating the butter into the mix is GENIUS! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States