Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
For this recipe, I used a mix of marionberries, blueberries, and rasberries. I did not freeze or grate the butter. I took cold butter and cut it into small pieces with a pastry knife. The result was a great recipe for a fruit shortcake. Another plus is the short baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Oh. My. God. This is the best shortcake I have EVER tasted!!! I didn't follow the berry instructions (I just used fresh strawberries with sugar & topped w/ whipped cream), just the biscuit instructions. A couple minor changes: I didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 so I used 2% milk - it worked perfectly. I didn't freeze the butter, but I did used very cold butter. Loved the grating technique. I also added to the recipe a bit of vanilla extract and about a scant 1/2 tsp of ground cardamom. I had never tried the cardamom before but had seen it in other shortcake recipes. Wow, was it ever a great addition. Anyway, this was soooo yummy. I will never look for a shortcake recipe again. One other thing - use cooking spray on the baking sheet. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly and it is AMAZING! I did sift together the dry ingredients, but that's just my preference. Also, instead of placing the dough into a loaf pan and cutting into squares, I just made 6 large hand shaped biscuits. Cook time was the same. This recipe was soooo easy and fast. Definitely recommend the egg wash with sugar sprinkled on top...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This is the best shortcake ever! I followed the shortcake recipe exactly, but improvised on the berries. I omitted the frozen berries and used fresh raspberries, marion berries and strawberries- a pint each with 2T sugar stirred in. The shortcake is so tender and wonderful. I was so proud to serve this to my husband. It would be perfect for guests. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This was AMAZING!! I substituted fat free half and half for the regular full fat stuff and it was still great. I also used cool whip and fresh strawberries. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I followed the recipe for the shortcakes exactly and it was incredibly easy, and a huge hit for my July 4th party - will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
really good, but kinda dry and don't roll the dough just squish the dough in to balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was unbelievable...everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Wow! These are so good! I loved the tip of freezing and grating the butter. I thought about skipping that, but am so glad I didn't. It works amazingly well and I've since used that trick with other recipes. Sugar sprinkled on top makes them good enough to eat without the berries (which my husband doesn't like). This recipe got raves at my house and from my company. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This recipe is exactly what I've been looking for to make great strawberry shortcake! I only used a fork to cut in the butter and the butter was not frozen -- just used it straight from the refrigerator. I also just molded 6 rounded "patties" and baked on the baking sheet and they were perfect! Thank you for such a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States