Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
The shortcakes were the best part of this recipe.. I will never buy another straberry shortcake again...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Perfect Shortcake recipe! Tender, perfectly sweet and very easy with excellent results every time. Don't forget the egg white brush/sugar before baking! We will continue to use this recipe over and over with all type of fruit. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These were okay. Since strawberries have come down in price I was dying to make a dessert. I followed the directions for the shortcakes and just used fresh strawberries with homemade whipped cream. First, my shortcakes took REALLY long to bake. at 12 minutes they were completely under-baked, at 15 minutes they still seemed really soft and not brown at all. At around 18 minutes I finally took them out (I wanted them to be slightly golden on top). These have almost no taste to them, not a shortcake taste at least. There is WAY too much butter, mine were very greasy. And they aren't sweet, in fact the biscuits I usually make are sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was quick and easy and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The biscuits in this recipe were phenomenal! Buttery, flaky, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, mmmm. I added a little cardamom to the dough because I like it with fruit desserts. I made my normal strawberry mixture: Strawberries, Gran Marnier, sugar, lemon juice and a pinch of salt. I will definitely be making this biscuit recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made the shortcake portion of this recipe and it is by far the best shortcake I have ever had. I didn't read the directions very well and added the egg white to the egg and milk mixture. They still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These are excellent!! Don't over mix the dough, as that will cause them to become dense. I follow the recipe exactly, sometimes adding a bit more milk a tiny bit at a time to get the dough to come together nicely. I roll into balls and flatten once on my baking sheet, and then dust with sugar. They have excellent flavor, are moist and light. I make a strawberry sauce from fresh or frozen berries, as well I slice fresh berries. I split the shortcakes horizontally, spoon on the sauce over the bottom shortcake, then the sliced berries next, and finally a nice dallop of fresh whipped cream and then top with the pretty sugared top. Very beautiful presentation and so very divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CatherineLilian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i made these, and they were a complete fail. im not sure what is was that went wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineLilian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe was good, but I liked the shortcake better without the berries and whipped topping. The salty flavor of the cake overwhelmed the entire dessert. Will make these again, but not for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States