Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The biscuits in this recipe were phenomenal! Buttery, flaky, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, mmmm. I added a little cardamom to the dough because I like it with fruit desserts. I made my normal strawberry mixture: Strawberries, Gran Marnier, sugar, lemon juice and a pinch of salt. I will definitely be making this biscuit recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made the shortcake portion of this recipe and it is by far the best shortcake I have ever had. I didn't read the directions very well and added the egg white to the egg and milk mixture. They still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These are excellent!! Don't over mix the dough, as that will cause them to become dense. I follow the recipe exactly, sometimes adding a bit more milk a tiny bit at a time to get the dough to come together nicely. I roll into balls and flatten once on my baking sheet, and then dust with sugar. They have excellent flavor, are moist and light. I make a strawberry sauce from fresh or frozen berries, as well I slice fresh berries. I split the shortcakes horizontally, spoon on the sauce over the bottom shortcake, then the sliced berries next, and finally a nice dallop of fresh whipped cream and then top with the pretty sugared top. Very beautiful presentation and so very divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CatherineLilian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i made these, and they were a complete fail. im not sure what is was that went wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineLilian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This recipe was good, but I liked the shortcake better without the berries and whipped topping. The salty flavor of the cake overwhelmed the entire dessert. Will make these again, but not for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was delicious! and very easy to make. I just used the shortbread recipe though, and used fresh strawberrys instead. I will definitly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is really delicious! I put in 1/4 tsp of cardamom for a special flavor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
these were so rich I could hardly stand it. Not sweet, very biscuit-ish, but very rich with strawberries on top. My husband still prefers sponge cake (YUCK) but these are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIFFER2525

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Oh my God!!! This was wonderful!! I love the grating the butter! They were tender and sweet. I only added 3 tablespoons of sugar to the cakes and sprinkled pearl sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I did only make the cakes not the berry part!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States