Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by CoffeeWench
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Super tasty and flaky. I make it with 2% milk as I like using ingredients I have on hand and it tastes just as good. Love the grating the butter trick. I have learned that the less you handle this dough the better it is. I also full on dip the tops in turbinado sugar prior to baking. Soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Definitely recommend including the step of brushing the tops with egg white & sprinkling with sugar - added a sweetness & slight crunch that I think makes the shortcake that much better. I've never frozen and grated butter like this recipe calls for, but since I have only basic kitchen appliances/tools, I found that it sped up the process nicely. Didn't bother with the fruit suggestion, since I always do the same thing: fresh strawberries with a bit of sugar to get the juices flowing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Verdibello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had never tried making shortcakes before. I used my Cusinart to grate the butter, so that took me a few seconds to do. I followed the recipe and they came out fantastic. Beautiful, but casual and delicious dessert. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
UNBELIEVABLE!! I have NEVER tasted such a fantastic shortcake recipe EVER! So flaky and moist - I used real butter and whole milk as I didn't have half-and-half but turned out great. I did my own fruit recipe but if you want a fantastic shortcake, this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
After reading all the wonderful reviews, I was disappointed in these. I expected them to be sweeter. They were just a regular old biscuit. The only really good part was the outside that had been dusted with sugar. My husband took a tiny bite and wouldn't even eat one. I think if it's going to be a dessert biscuit, it should be much sweeter... and more "melt in your mouth." I will look for another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Mmm-mmm! Simple to make and absolutely delicious! I just used all frozen strawberries, and it was great. Highly recommneded!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
So quick and easy to make. My husband told me I'm not allowed to buy store bought cakes ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Grating the butter was a pain, but at least I didn't have to roll out the dough. The shortcakes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made it this morning for my boyfriend, without whipped cream - he loved it and asked for more. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States