Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made shortcake for the first time today and glad I chose this recipe. Served with fresh strawberries (let them sit in sugar for a bit, this made a very yummy syrup.) I did burn the bottoms just a little but only because I haven't quite got the hang of my oven. The egg white and sugar topping is definitely worth the extra effort. Also, next time I think I will cut into smaller portions before baking, just a personal preference. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I only added lemon zest the second time i made this and it was even better that wonderful. A real cafe quality treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgunderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very delicious shortcake!! I did use milk instead of half-and-half and did not freeze the butter and grate it, but just used softened butter. Unlike many shortcakes (which dry out overnight) this one was just as delicious the next day. I will definitely be making this again; it was wonderful. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Best dessert I've ever made! Thank you for sharing this recipe with the world. I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot to put vanilla in my whipped cream (didn't matter too much!). It was so divine. I asked my boyfriend what he thought after taking a few bites, and he said, "FIVE" (with his mouth full), meaning five stars on AllRecipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very tasty and easy. Although I have a pastry blender and am comfortable using it, I tried this method this time. I will probably use my pastry blender in the future because I think that is easier than grating frozen butter. I had fresh strawberries from our farmer's market and really used only the recipe for the shortcake. Also I added 1/2 cup cocoa to make chocolate shortcakes. Strawberries, chocolate and whipped topping = YUM! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I did not change a thing and they came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have half and half for the shortbread, so I took a chance and used 1% milk. It was delicious! A definite keeper. Much better than those weird sponge cakes at the store and just as easy as a Bisquick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe with the exception of using non-hydrogenated margarine instead of butter. The shortcakes had a wonderful crunch to the outside, and a soft, moist inside. For the filling I purchased some fresh, NOT frozen, cherries. I simply cut them in half (2 cups of cherries), threw away the pits, and tossed them into a sauce pan with some mix berry 100% juice, 2 teaspoons of brown sugar, and a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. I let the cherries simmer on the stove on low heat for 45 minutes. I'm going to save this recipe and make these shortcakes again for family over vacation. Thank you for sharing! (For a softer shortcake, place them in an air tight container and the next day, they will be super soft! You can also add a slice of bread to the container.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaRubia
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I only followed the biscuit recipie and thawed frozen strawberries and used ready whipped cream and a little icecream :) just like at my favorite resturaunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRubia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
*I just made the shortbread* Excellent. Easy, tender shortcake. I pressed the dough into flattened balls, besides that, I followed the directions exactly and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States