Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I'm sorry to say this, but my friends and I were not a fan of this recipe. It was very dry and bland. I followed the recipe exactly and the results just were not good. Sorry. (This review is for the shortcakes only.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GriffsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I've made this twice now, both times to great reviews but serving them warm was the best!! I use UNbleached flour and can't tell any difference in appearance, they are golden brown and delicious. I didn't roll out just hand-patted six shortcakes - cleanup was breeze - one bowl, one measuring cup/spoons and no food processor to take apart and clean. The egg white wash/sugar topping is worth the extra effort. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very yummy, although mine turned out a bit crumbly. WOuld definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made shortcake for the first time today and glad I chose this recipe. Served with fresh strawberries (let them sit in sugar for a bit, this made a very yummy syrup.) I did burn the bottoms just a little but only because I haven't quite got the hang of my oven. The egg white and sugar topping is definitely worth the extra effort. Also, next time I think I will cut into smaller portions before baking, just a personal preference. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I only added lemon zest the second time i made this and it was even better that wonderful. A real cafe quality treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bgunderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very delicious shortcake!! I did use milk instead of half-and-half and did not freeze the butter and grate it, but just used softened butter. Unlike many shortcakes (which dry out overnight) this one was just as delicious the next day. I will definitely be making this again; it was wonderful. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Best dessert I've ever made! Thank you for sharing this recipe with the world. I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot to put vanilla in my whipped cream (didn't matter too much!). It was so divine. I asked my boyfriend what he thought after taking a few bites, and he said, "FIVE" (with his mouth full), meaning five stars on AllRecipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very tasty and easy. Although I have a pastry blender and am comfortable using it, I tried this method this time. I will probably use my pastry blender in the future because I think that is easier than grating frozen butter. I had fresh strawberries from our farmer's market and really used only the recipe for the shortcake. Also I added 1/2 cup cocoa to make chocolate shortcakes. Strawberries, chocolate and whipped topping = YUM! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I did not change a thing and they came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have half and half for the shortbread, so I took a chance and used 1% milk. It was delicious! A definite keeper. Much better than those weird sponge cakes at the store and just as easy as a Bisquick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States