Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Reminds me of the shortcakes that my mom used to make, only a bit better. HOWEVER, I have come to prefer a homemade angelfood cake or etc. They are more fussy, but if I don't have time for them, I'd rather just have strawberries and a touch of whipped cream with a cookie........... But that's just me. If I hadn't been served strawberries with light and airy cakes several times of late, I don't think I could have been swayed..... I did enjoy my mother's strawberry shortcakes through the years, but who knew? now I'm converted....... Thanks for a nice shortcake to help me come to my conclusion though........ If my mom comes through when we have a lot of berries, I might make this recipe just for her........ I'm sure she'd love it, and it's certainly not bad eatin' - I've just been nudged in another direction of late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Yum! Just made these and they came out great! I made them slightly smaller and got about 8 out of each batch (doubled the recipe so I could take these to a party). I watched them closely while cooking to make sure that they didn't overcook. I mixed some chopped spearmint leaves in with the whipped cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Easy and delicious!! I had to keep the husband and kids away until desert! I formed it into one round and cut into 8 pie peices then separated on a cookie sheet and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved the shortcake!! I didn't go all out with the berry combo, but just used a simple strawberry in sugar to top. Shared with a friend and her two little picky eaters - they all gave big thumbs up and smiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome! SO good and SO easy to make. What a pleasure to whip up a tasty desert with so little time and effort. No need to go hunting for another shortcake recipe-- this one ROCKS! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very easy to make, tasted great, the only reason it got 4/5 stars was because the cake part was very crumbly, made it a bit difficult to both cut and eat. Other than that, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made the shortcake only. I followed the recipe up to the roll out part. I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper to the thickness I wanted, then flipped the circle onto a piece of parchment on a cookie sheet. I cut the circle into manageable pieces, sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked according to directions. Delish! BTW shredding the butter is a great idea. I always have frozen butter in the freezer. I'd rather do that then cut with a pastry cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe turns out terrible if you happen to use baking soda instead of baking powder. Oops. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
We all really enjoyed this. The biscuits turn out VERY crumbly, so be careful when you're cutting them open. The cream too SO long to make - definitely recommend putting the bowl/spoon in the freezer beforehand to speed things up. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are wonderful shortcakes! Press the dough out to the 8 x 4 rectangle on wax paper (easier clean-up). Instead of spraying the pan with propellent chemicals or using grease, these did great just putting the squares onto parchment paper (and easier clean-up). Definitely do the "optional" egg white thing, and when the dough needed more moisture to stick together I just threw in the egg yolk instead of more 1/2&1/2 - just fine and no waste. Husband said that shortcakes are usually bland and "meh", but these were wonderful little butter cakes with biscuit appearance and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States