Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
That Shortcake! is easy and tastes great.. I had one difference with it..I don't care for as much shortcake as some to with the strawberries...This recipe easily doubled the servings as displayed..Soft.. sweet.. and keep better than the usual ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Anson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicious old school recipe. I used fresh picked strawberries instead of frozen mixed berries. Even my BF who doesn't care for dessert loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Great, traditional shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong. The shortcake is more like a dry biscuit. (Although I didn't add the sheen) the "candied" berries on the dry bisquit wasn't a good match. Noone touched these :-( HOWEVER! the "shortcake" recipe is a good and easy recipe for biscuits! ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum!! I followed the recipe except didn't have half & half, so used 1% milk and it was fine. I also sprayed the baking pan with a small amount of non-stick spray. Instead of cutting them in half, we just crumbled it. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
as written this was great. easy to make, grated butter worked very well. this tasted more like biscuits we like more of a shortcake. will not be making this for shortcake, but hoping to figure out something to use this with as the flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Reminds me of the shortcakes that my mom used to make, only a bit better. HOWEVER, I have come to prefer a homemade angelfood cake or etc. They are more fussy, but if I don't have time for them, I'd rather just have strawberries and a touch of whipped cream with a cookie........... But that's just me. If I hadn't been served strawberries with light and airy cakes several times of late, I don't think I could have been swayed..... I did enjoy my mother's strawberry shortcakes through the years, but who knew? now I'm converted....... Thanks for a nice shortcake to help me come to my conclusion though........ If my mom comes through when we have a lot of berries, I might make this recipe just for her........ I'm sure she'd love it, and it's certainly not bad eatin' - I've just been nudged in another direction of late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Yum! Just made these and they came out great! I made them slightly smaller and got about 8 out of each batch (doubled the recipe so I could take these to a party). I watched them closely while cooking to make sure that they didn't overcook. I mixed some chopped spearmint leaves in with the whipped cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Easy and delicious!! I had to keep the husband and kids away until desert! I formed it into one round and cut into 8 pie peices then separated on a cookie sheet and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved the shortcake!! I didn't go all out with the berry combo, but just used a simple strawberry in sugar to top. Shared with a friend and her two little picky eaters - they all gave big thumbs up and smiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States