Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum!! I followed the recipe except didn't have half & half, so used 1% milk and it was fine. I also sprayed the baking pan with a small amount of non-stick spray. Instead of cutting them in half, we just crumbled it. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
as written this was great. easy to make, grated butter worked very well. this tasted more like biscuits we like more of a shortcake. will not be making this for shortcake, but hoping to figure out something to use this with as the flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Reminds me of the shortcakes that my mom used to make, only a bit better. HOWEVER, I have come to prefer a homemade angelfood cake or etc. They are more fussy, but if I don't have time for them, I'd rather just have strawberries and a touch of whipped cream with a cookie........... But that's just me. If I hadn't been served strawberries with light and airy cakes several times of late, I don't think I could have been swayed..... I did enjoy my mother's strawberry shortcakes through the years, but who knew? now I'm converted....... Thanks for a nice shortcake to help me come to my conclusion though........ If my mom comes through when we have a lot of berries, I might make this recipe just for her........ I'm sure she'd love it, and it's certainly not bad eatin' - I've just been nudged in another direction of late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Yum! Just made these and they came out great! I made them slightly smaller and got about 8 out of each batch (doubled the recipe so I could take these to a party). I watched them closely while cooking to make sure that they didn't overcook. I mixed some chopped spearmint leaves in with the whipped cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Easy and delicious!! I had to keep the husband and kids away until desert! I formed it into one round and cut into 8 pie peices then separated on a cookie sheet and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved the shortcake!! I didn't go all out with the berry combo, but just used a simple strawberry in sugar to top. Shared with a friend and her two little picky eaters - they all gave big thumbs up and smiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome! SO good and SO easy to make. What a pleasure to whip up a tasty desert with so little time and effort. No need to go hunting for another shortcake recipe-- this one ROCKS! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very easy to make, tasted great, the only reason it got 4/5 stars was because the cake part was very crumbly, made it a bit difficult to both cut and eat. Other than that, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made the shortcake only. I followed the recipe up to the roll out part. I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper to the thickness I wanted, then flipped the circle onto a piece of parchment on a cookie sheet. I cut the circle into manageable pieces, sprinkled with turbinado sugar and baked according to directions. Delish! BTW shredding the butter is a great idea. I always have frozen butter in the freezer. I'd rather do that then cut with a pastry cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe turns out terrible if you happen to use baking soda instead of baking powder. Oops. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States