Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The best Strawberry Shortcake to ever come out of this house! The frozen butter was so easy to work into this recipe.I wish I had heard of this method before now, I'm going to try this approach with my next pie crust. The dessert got rave reviews and request for more as the seasons and fruits change. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was good shortcake, but I didn't like the "quick" method of preparing it. I think it is so much easier to combine flour and butter by using a pastry blender. My arm felt like it was going to fall off by the time I finished grating the stick of butter into the flour. It is NOT EASY to hold the grater over the bowl while trying to press hard enough for the frozen butter to shave off. Not to mention that the butter got very soft quickly after grating and I lost a good portion of the grated butter because it was stuck inside of my grater. So I do not believe my recipe even had 1/2 cup of the required butter. I will be keeping this recipe, but I have no problem waiting for my butter to soften and then cutting it into the flour with a pastry cutter or fork like any other pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHLEYMCNAIR
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Easy and delicious. I made the shortcake part of the recipe and just used sugared fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream. I grated refrigerated butter and it worked really well. It makes incorporating the ingredients so easy! I used the suggested amount of sugar for the top and really liked it. I also just divided the dough into six portions and shaped them into rounds with my hands. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEYMCNAIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
just right! Try not to pack the dough down to keep them light and fluffy. Used splanda not sugar but sprinkled sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used my food processor which to me seems easier. I just cut the butter into small pieces and it worked great. I baked them on parchment paper and lowered the oven temp to 400. I think it could even come down to 375 to avoid getting too dark on the bottoms. I like that you can make it ahead and put the shortcake squares in the fridge till ready to bake. We served with fresh lightly sugared strawberries and cool whip. The kids added vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce to theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These shortcakes were amazing!! They were so good right out of the oven. I didn't make the whipped topping, just used extra creamy Cool Whip. I used frozen strawberries and they were ok. I'll use fresh next time. These shortcakes are too yummy to cover with mediocre berries. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly L Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These turned out so good and so easy to make! I added a dash of cinnamon and one tsp of vanilla, top it with Supreme Strawberry Topping and whip topping and it makes a refreshing dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe made fantastic shortcakes. I will definetly use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I went to the supermarket and bought some fresh strawberries. Let's see I am craving strawberry shortcakes...so I went online and waa-la. I found this recipe and whipped it up and oh boy so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TuRtLeMaMa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This review is based on a slightly modified version of the shortcakes only. I did not have butter or half-and-half on hand so I substituted equivalent amounts of Smart Balance tub spread and fat free milk. Even with these changes, the shortcakes lived up to their name. The dough was easy to handle and baked into attractive, generously sized cakes with wonderful texture and just enough sweetness. I added sweetened berries and Cool Whip to mine but if I'm feeling decadent one day, I may go with the full monty version as printed here. For now at least, the shortcake recipe is in my permanent file. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States