Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH! These were SO EASY, SO FAST, and SOOOOO YUMMY! :) I've never made shortbread before, but we had a ton of cheap fresh local strawberries (I only used the biscuits part of this recipe) and were craving Strawberry Shortcake. I tried grating the butter, which mostly worked and might have been a lot less messy if it hadn't been 100 degrees today... it certainly was fast. Also, I decided not to roll out the dough as mine was kind of wet- instead I roughly shaped 6 balls and dropped them on my cookie sheet. I will say the sprinkled sugar on top is a MUST! Makes all the difference! :) Anyways- I will definitely be making this again and again this summer! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Perfect shortcakes for the strawberries we had for Easter. An Easy dough to work with and the biscuits baked beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I'm living abroad for the year, and my kitchen has limited appliances. I followed the shorcake recipe, but then just topped the cakes with strawberries chopped into strawberry yogurt. This is a delicious, no hassle dessert, and I was excited to find a recipe that didn't require the use of a beater or mixer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kocinera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The best Strawberry Shortcake to ever come out of this house! The frozen butter was so easy to work into this recipe.I wish I had heard of this method before now, I'm going to try this approach with my next pie crust. The dessert got rave reviews and request for more as the seasons and fruits change. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was good shortcake, but I didn't like the "quick" method of preparing it. I think it is so much easier to combine flour and butter by using a pastry blender. My arm felt like it was going to fall off by the time I finished grating the stick of butter into the flour. It is NOT EASY to hold the grater over the bowl while trying to press hard enough for the frozen butter to shave off. Not to mention that the butter got very soft quickly after grating and I lost a good portion of the grated butter because it was stuck inside of my grater. So I do not believe my recipe even had 1/2 cup of the required butter. I will be keeping this recipe, but I have no problem waiting for my butter to soften and then cutting it into the flour with a pastry cutter or fork like any other pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASHLEYMCNAIR
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Easy and delicious. I made the shortcake part of the recipe and just used sugared fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream. I grated refrigerated butter and it worked really well. It makes incorporating the ingredients so easy! I used the suggested amount of sugar for the top and really liked it. I also just divided the dough into six portions and shaped them into rounds with my hands. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEYMCNAIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
just right! Try not to pack the dough down to keep them light and fluffy. Used splanda not sugar but sprinkled sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used my food processor which to me seems easier. I just cut the butter into small pieces and it worked great. I baked them on parchment paper and lowered the oven temp to 400. I think it could even come down to 375 to avoid getting too dark on the bottoms. I like that you can make it ahead and put the shortcake squares in the fridge till ready to bake. We served with fresh lightly sugared strawberries and cool whip. The kids added vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce to theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These shortcakes were amazing!! They were so good right out of the oven. I didn't make the whipped topping, just used extra creamy Cool Whip. I used frozen strawberries and they were ok. I'll use fresh next time. These shortcakes are too yummy to cover with mediocre berries. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly L Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These turned out so good and so easy to make! I added a dash of cinnamon and one tsp of vanilla, top it with Supreme Strawberry Topping and whip topping and it makes a refreshing dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States