Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These are super simple scone-like recipe. I was scrambling to get a desert put together and this recipe was perfect. Since I was preparing last minute, I didn't have my butter frozen. No worries, just use your regular cold butter with a pastry cutter and slice your butter in about 8 slices and blend it in a bit less fine than you would for a crust, or finer pastry. I also didn't have anything but 2% milk, so I used it!! I skipped rolling or patting out my shortcakes into a rectangle, since my counter-top was full!! I just patted out right on my cooking stone, and sliced 6 ways ways, like a pizza, then moved the slices a couple of inches apart. I set my timer for 10 minutes, but kept going until about 15 minutes, using refrigerated butter, 2% milk and a cooking stone. The short-cakes came out perfect and my family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used the shortcake portion of the recipe and these are by far the BEST shortcakes!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were great! I did use more sugar to sweeten them up a little bit and make them more shortcake-like as opposed to scone-like. I liked the idea of shredding the butter, but in the end just used a pastry cutter as it was more of a pain to shred over the bowl rather than just use the pastry blender and get it done. Loved that it has a lot of butter! Makes these very tender and flakey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very simple. It was nice recipe but I'm not gonna say great. I'm not much of a shortcake lover so it could just be me but I didn't think this made the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
After adding a little extra sugar, I find that these are as close as I could find to my momma's recipe. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I ended up using whipping cream instead of half and half because that's all I had. These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
A little too dry and crumbly for my taste but will probably try again...just in case! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was so easy, I had it prepared and out of the oven cooling in 30 minutes. They taste like a cross between a sugar cookie and pie crust... Next time I will make them smaller, getting 12 instead of 6 because they are very rich and filling. I didn't have enough fresh whipping cream so I used cool-whip for my topping.. still very tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH! These were SO EASY, SO FAST, and SOOOOO YUMMY! :) I've never made shortbread before, but we had a ton of cheap fresh local strawberries (I only used the biscuits part of this recipe) and were craving Strawberry Shortcake. I tried grating the butter, which mostly worked and might have been a lot less messy if it hadn't been 100 degrees today... it certainly was fast. Also, I decided not to roll out the dough as mine was kind of wet- instead I roughly shaped 6 balls and dropped them on my cookie sheet. I will say the sprinkled sugar on top is a MUST! Makes all the difference! :) Anyways- I will definitely be making this again and again this summer! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Perfect shortcakes for the strawberries we had for Easter. An Easy dough to work with and the biscuits baked beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States