Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Amazing! No need to freeze butter though as long as its cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xchristax

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't try the butter method, but LOVED these shortcakes! The dough was super easy, baked up beautifully and tasted even better. Definitely use the sugar on top - it's not overpowering (as I thought it might be). This is my go-to recipe for shortcakes from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
These are excellent... just the right blend of softness in the middle with a bit of a crisp edge and the perfect amount of sweetness to set off whatever berry you serve them with. My children are my biggest critics and there are never any left over when I make these (they'll eat them the next morning for breakfast with jam). I don't bother with the grating of the butter (can be pretty messy) but just let it soften a bit and use the pasty cutter. Or the two fork method works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Best shortcake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Oh My Goodness this is the best shortcake I have ever made. I made the dough just like it said and it was so easy. I did use a biscuit cutter to cut it out though. Perfect. This is my last search for shortcake,because it is the only one I will make from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These are super simple scone-like recipe. I was scrambling to get a desert put together and this recipe was perfect. Since I was preparing last minute, I didn't have my butter frozen. No worries, just use your regular cold butter with a pastry cutter and slice your butter in about 8 slices and blend it in a bit less fine than you would for a crust, or finer pastry. I also didn't have anything but 2% milk, so I used it!! I skipped rolling or patting out my shortcakes into a rectangle, since my counter-top was full!! I just patted out right on my cooking stone, and sliced 6 ways ways, like a pizza, then moved the slices a couple of inches apart. I set my timer for 10 minutes, but kept going until about 15 minutes, using refrigerated butter, 2% milk and a cooking stone. The short-cakes came out perfect and my family raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I used the shortcake portion of the recipe and these are by far the BEST shortcakes!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These were great! I did use more sugar to sweeten them up a little bit and make them more shortcake-like as opposed to scone-like. I liked the idea of shredding the butter, but in the end just used a pastry cutter as it was more of a pain to shred over the bowl rather than just use the pastry blender and get it done. Loved that it has a lot of butter! Makes these very tender and flakey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very simple. It was nice recipe but I'm not gonna say great. I'm not much of a shortcake lover so it could just be me but I didn't think this made the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
After adding a little extra sugar, I find that these are as close as I could find to my momma's recipe. They are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States