Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Mmm! Light and flaky! Don't skip the egg wash and sprinkled on sugar. So good! I used whole milk in place of half-and-half, since I didn't have it. I think one of the keys is minimal handling, which forming into a rectangle and slicing accomplishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Like many other reviewers, I only used the shortcake portion of this recipe and it was fantastic! I've never had much luck making biscuits but with all the positive reviews, I had to give this one a try. I followed the directions exactly, except I used 2% milk in the dough, as that was all I had on hand. The dough seemed very wet after the addition of the egg and milk, but I went with it anyway. I turned the dough out onto my lightly floured countertop, patted it into shape and made my cuts with a flour dipped knife. Used the spatula to put them on a sprayed cookie sheet and topped with egg white and sugar. These were sooo good! I used plain old strawberries (as if there is any such thing) with a sugar syrup, whipped cream and got rave reviews from all my kids. My 10 yr old was goofing off and dropped his plate without even taking a bite, but it was so good I didn't want him to miss out on it so I broke my own rules and made him another. One note, making this into 6 biscuits makes large biscuits, you could easily make this into 8 biscuits and no one would feel shortchanged. Hmmm, there's one more left, do I dare make myself another plate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I only made the shortcakes...they are light and sweeter than mom's shortbread...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These shortcakes are fabulous. I followed the recipe exactly, and there's nothing I would change. The biscuits are great on their own or with berries. No more shortcakes made from baking mix for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These are very good, altho I would've liked more sugar IN the batter, rather than on top. Also, these are huge! If I make again, I'll cut into 8 pieces, at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Amazing! No need to freeze butter though as long as its cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xchristax

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't try the butter method, but LOVED these shortcakes! The dough was super easy, baked up beautifully and tasted even better. Definitely use the sugar on top - it's not overpowering (as I thought it might be). This is my go-to recipe for shortcakes from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
These are excellent... just the right blend of softness in the middle with a bit of a crisp edge and the perfect amount of sweetness to set off whatever berry you serve them with. My children are my biggest critics and there are never any left over when I make these (they'll eat them the next morning for breakfast with jam). I don't bother with the grating of the butter (can be pretty messy) but just let it soften a bit and use the pasty cutter. Or the two fork method works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Best shortcake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Oh My Goodness this is the best shortcake I have ever made. I made the dough just like it said and it was so easy. I did use a biscuit cutter to cut it out though. Perfect. This is my last search for shortcake,because it is the only one I will make from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States