Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Good recipe, but not the one I was hoping for. Very easy. I followed it exactly, except I added a teaspoon or so of pure maple syrup to the heavy cream before whipping it. I cut the sugar in half for the whipped cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
SO much better than my usual bisquick shortcakes! I even cheated with the butter and melted it in the microwave a little to make the mixing process faster. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
After reading several other reviews I decided to give this recipe a try. I have always made the Bisquick recipe but now I will never go back to that type of short cake again. I followed the recipe exactly, I just happen to have half and half and frozen butter on hand. The frozen butter is a little tricky to shred in the box grater as I was trying not to cut my fingers! I did the butter 2 tablespoons at a time and then mixed it in the flour mixture, that keeps the butter from lumping. They baked up BEAUTIFULLY, delicate golden brown and crispy crust. I too only used the shortcake part of the recipe. I agree with another reviewer, you could cut these in eight biscuits and not notice the difference but I am sure you will want a second helping. They are awesome and I plan on just trying the biscuit with coffee in the morning and trying them with other fruit such as peaches. If you had 6 stars I would definitely give the recipe all SIX! GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These are awesome! The shortcakes are not sweet yet they are tastey, tender and flakey, almost like a scone. The dough is very easy to work with and they bake up with an old fashioned charmed look . I substituted 1/4 c. of whole wheat flour for regular flour and added poppyseeds. Mixing frozen and fresh strawberries helps make enough berry syrup to go round for all the shortcakes. I sliced into 8 shortcakes because slicing into 6 makes for a pretty big serving. This is now my "go-to" shortcake biscuit recipe. I'm looking forward to using other fruits for variety. THANK YOU Pam for yet another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I found these to be a nice balance between a drier biscuit shortcake and cake -- they were tender with a nice texture, buttery, and sweet. My husband doesn't care for biscuit shortcakes, but he liked these. It's an easy recipe and will probably be my standby for shortcakes from now on. Be sure to read the recipe thoroughly before you begin because it has a few twists from the usual. Pass the berries! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Nice scone-like biscuits, although a tad dry. These were easy to make, which is always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good recipe! My mom also said it was very similar to her scone recipe. Definitely add the egg white and sugar before baking. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carota McEwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good. If you like a true shortcake with a somewhat traditional, dry, biscuit-like cake, you'll go for this in a big way. The sugar crusting on the top was perfect. I pureed half the berries to make sure there was enough moisture to soak into these. If I had just sliced up the berries, it would have been a little dry for our taste. Like shauna85 said, similar to a scone - a very dry scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Easy to make! Spreading the VERY COLD = STIFF (pieces that spread easy and easily) butter flakes is the secret. I hand-tossed every tablespoon. What a lovely recipe. I used a glass as cookie cutter; didn't want a mess today. Served hubby a hot one with butter / honey and HE told me to save the recipe! During dinner he said he wants to get mexican table cream to pour on for breakfast. These are shortcakes but are very scone ......ish! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shauna85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These were wonderful! I made blueberry shortcakes with them and my 8 year old daughter said it's her new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States