Perfect Berry Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used this shortcake recipe and topped it with strawberries, balsalmic vinegar, sugar and a tiny bit of black pepper and whipped cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakonda, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I used fresh strawberries, and since I didn't have any frozen ones but still wanted the juice, I put some of the berries in the food processor and added it back to the rest of the strawberries. Perfect! I also used whole milk instead of half and half, and it turned out great as well. My husband liked it (there's not much, especially desserts, that he doesn't like!). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this as written. Very easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These turned out beautiful, and they are so easy to prepare! I can't stand those store bought sponge things they market as shortcake. For me they were neither too dry or plain, just sweet enough and complimented the strawberries nicely with real whipped cream. Thank you for posting this recipe, I've used it time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Biscuits are too dry, too plain. If it could all be a little more delicate and flavorful, that would fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this for my sister and my friend. We all enjoyed the cakes very much, however, the dough could be a bit sweeter. Perhaps adding vanilla and more sugar could solve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trent Michaels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Made just the shortcakes last night, scaling the recipe down to 2. Very good, but a couple of suggestions, of course: First, it was not quite sweet enough. Perhaps you might add a bit more sugar. I also added a big drop of Vanilla 'cause I like it. Most important suggestion though, don't flatten them out too much like I did. Keep at least 1 1/2 thick or make them like drop biscuits. Then you get nice nooks and crannies for the egg white and sugar to collect in. FINALLY, if you are only baking them for two, scale the recipe to three because they weren't quite big enough. Flavor, with a bit more sugar, was great. Next time I'm going to add a bit of cardomom like another reviewer suggested. Sounds interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for a girlfriend's baby shower and it was a huge success. I think the idea of freezing the butter and grating it is nothing short of genius, and the whole process was much simpler than I anticipated. Instead of thawed frozen berries I substituted fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. I added sugar to allow the berries to macerate while the biscuits were baking, and the combination of berries, biscuits and whipped cream was simply to die for! I'll be making this again (and again, and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was the perfect easiest recipe for shortcake and they tasted great! Family loved it with our fresh local blackberries that are in season here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i dont eat strawberries, but i made this as a special treat for my mom and husband. they raved about it! thanks for makin me look good! i followed the recipe exactly, and they said the crispy top of the shortbread (coz of the egg white and sugar) was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States