Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I guess my potatoes were too large, but this took a lot longer than what the recipe called for. Also, there was oil burned drips in the bottom of my oven, yuck!*** Update 10/13/12 .. this worked perfect on my medium potatoes and I put some tin foil down on the bottom, no mess, the salt was perfect. Sorry for the bad review before, as it was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Easy. I love baked potatoes that you get at the restaurant but I could not get the same taste with the potatoes that I did at home, until now. I was very pleased, added butter and sour cream and I was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These potatoes turned out great! It was a small mess trying to get those darned potatoes lightly coated with olive oil (First I tried a paper towel but ended up using my hands) and next time, I think I'll take MC_MA_OF_3's advise and used butter flavored Pam...I'll spray it on those guys! Ofcourse, we like our potatoes loaded so we topped them we cheese, chives, sour cream...the works! Went well with our dinner (in fact, some of the gravy from the main meal tasted well on them too!). I never added anything to the skins before...but never again will I leave them plain either! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I usually microwave my potatoes just to save time, but in truth, these are so much better. I did cheat because I used huge potatoes and microwaved for about 10 minutes then cooked in the oven. They came out perfect. Also, I used table salt, but you really need to go with a course salt like Kosher salt. Topped with Garlic Butter (also off this site) and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This really was the perfect baked potato! I didn't add the cheese, but the olive oil and salt rub made big difference. The potato was light and fluffy. And the potato skin was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I love this potato my family was amazed a potato could taste that good.Now they all eat them. Thanks Chef Barbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe for baked potatoes! We had a "Potato Dinner" consisting of baked potatoes and lots of toppings. Such as cubed ham, cheese, sour cream, butter, chives, and what ever we could come up with. It was great for a change! We will have this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
My potatoes turned out great! Loved the olive oil/salt rub. I ended up stuffing my potatoes with grilled chicken cubes, ranch dressing, potato (used the inside of the baked potatoes), green onions, butter, and parsley with a cheese sauce topping and brocolli on the side. They tasted wonderful. My husband isn't a potato fan, but he raved on these. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Can't go wrong with this one. I cooked and crumbled a couple of pieces of bacon to add at the end. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Can't miss with this recipe. I also like to use sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States