Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is misleading in terms of time and temperature. The potatoes needed an additional hour at 300 degrees or the temperature needs to be increased. Every review says something to this effect. I read the reviews on recipes which I have never heard of. Guess I should have for baked potatoes too. Frustrating that after all of these reviews, it has not been fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I did what others recommended and baked for 45 minutes at 400 F, and it turned out great - The oil/salt combo make the skin taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Perfect Baked Potato Haiku: "Hmm, what's 'medium'? Guess my potatoes were large, cuz they weren't done." Followed the recipe as written and was disappointed to find that after 90 min. at 300 deg., my potatoes were still pretty hard, so due to having the rest of dinner ready, I had to zap mine in the microwave for 5-6 min. to get them finished the rest of the way, which kinda-sorta killed the "baked" part w/ the crispy skin that I like so much. Don't get me wrong - a microwaved potato is still good once it has cheese and butter on it, but I guess this was one of those instances where I should've gone w/ my gut about how one person's medium is another's small and what-not, and gone w/ a higher temp. Still a tasty potato nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great! Made them tonight, served with mushrooms and other veggies. I like the salty skin... Just gives the potatoes an extra lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The only way to bake a potato! I saw this recipe in the "Joy of Cooking" years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I've been making baked potatoes like this for years. The only change is that I bake them for 1 hour at 400 degrees. As an added little tidbit, after slathering the oil and kosher salt on the potatoes, I "wash" my hands with the remaining salt and oil. The salt exfoliates and the oil smoothes my hands. After I wash the residue off, I use hand cream and my hands are smooth and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Another good tip is to coat the potatoes with olive oil and salt and letting sit overnight. The salt draws the moisture from the potato making it more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The times will vary based on the size of the potato, but to get around worrying about that, just press the sides when you think they should be ready (oven mitt on, of course). When the sides are soft, they're done. Easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Don't poke holes in a baked potato! Cook at a higher temp 450 one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Camas
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I really like this recipe, I used what I thought were medium potatoes but they took about 2 hours to cook on 375 F. I also used sea salt to coat the potatoes and threw some bacon in the oven the last 15 minutes. When they were done I did as another review suggested and with a fork poked a horizontal line across the top of the potato and popped it open, it was hot and fluffy I added butter, shredded cheese, sour cream and bacon cut into bits. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Camas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States