Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great! Made them tonight, served with mushrooms and other veggies. I like the salty skin... Just gives the potatoes an extra lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The only way to bake a potato! I saw this recipe in the "Joy of Cooking" years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I've been making baked potatoes like this for years. The only change is that I bake them for 1 hour at 400 degrees. As an added little tidbit, after slathering the oil and kosher salt on the potatoes, I "wash" my hands with the remaining salt and oil. The salt exfoliates and the oil smoothes my hands. After I wash the residue off, I use hand cream and my hands are smooth and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Another good tip is to coat the potatoes with olive oil and salt and letting sit overnight. The salt draws the moisture from the potato making it more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The times will vary based on the size of the potato, but to get around worrying about that, just press the sides when you think they should be ready (oven mitt on, of course). When the sides are soft, they're done. Easy-peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Don't poke holes in a baked potato! Cook at a higher temp 450 one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Camas
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I really like this recipe, I used what I thought were medium potatoes but they took about 2 hours to cook on 375 F. I also used sea salt to coat the potatoes and threw some bacon in the oven the last 15 minutes. When they were done I did as another review suggested and with a fork poked a horizontal line across the top of the potato and popped it open, it was hot and fluffy I added butter, shredded cheese, sour cream and bacon cut into bits. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Camas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
These are the only way I make baked potatoes. I poke holes and roll the potatoes around in olive oil and salt. I use regular table salt and they come out great. I bake at 350 for one hour and they come out perfect every time. We top with cheese and sour cream or butter . Great and simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
these were incredible!! no changes what so ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States