Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Baked 2 large potatoes on the oven rack at 400 degrees for one hour. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My potatoes were apparently larger than medium size, because 90 min on 300 was definitely not enough to cook them. They were still hard. I ended up turning the oven temp up to 350 and cooking them 30 more minutes. I love the olive oil and salt, but I think the temp and cook time in this recipe should be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great basic recipe. I tossed my (scrubbed) medium-to-small-ish potatoes in a gallon sized ziplock bag with a couple tablespoons olive oil and passed on the salt (mostly because Hubby isn't a fan). I put the potatoes right on the oven rack with a large sheet of foil underneath to catch any wayward drops of oil. I did end up turning up the heat on my oven to 350 right about halfway through the cooking time - but they ended up perfect. The family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plainoctoberjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It worked! Had some huge bakers that would have taken just about forever to bake in the oven. Put these in the crockpot for 4 hours and they were perfectly cooked. Made a great baked potato bar for Super Bowl snacking! Will make baked potatoes this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Super easy and delicious! I have made this a few times and gotten great feedback each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I buy large bake potatoes. I wash the potatoes dry them well. Then I rub olive oil all around. I then add some spices like garlic powder, then garlic salt, onion powder kosher salt and black pepper. Once in a while I'll add powder cayenne pepper. Sometimes seasoned salt. Whatever! Oh. Before I do the olive oil I forgot to mention I do poke holes around potatoes. I then put them on shallow baking pan. Put in oven at 400 degrees for two hours! I live in the sierras at high elevation Everyone loves them. Not burnt at all. Skin is wonderful. Everyone eats the skin. Good luck on your adventures to bake a potatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very yummy! Best baked potato I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Follow the initial steps; piercing is good, to allow moisture to escape, but just do it right before they go in the oven. No need to measure olive oil - just pour some in one hand, or a folded paper towel, and rub each potato. You do not want them dripping in oil. Put rock salt on a flat pan - place your pierced potatoes on top of the rock salt. I prefer lining the pan with tin foil, because after baking, it's very easy to pick the foil up and put the rock salt in a container to use the next time! Rock salt helps draw moisture out of the potato. Use your rock salt for several batches, until it has become very dark. If you really think you need extra salt, sprinkle a tiny bit over the top of each one; most people don't need the extra salt, especially if using cheese, bacon, etc., all of which have salt in them! Instead of a 300f oven, I use a hotter temp. Forget the time schedule, as that varies with the size of potato - so with LARGE baking potatoes, for example, they may warm your house up with yummy smells, at 400f, for 1 1/2 hours! Love that! To make sure they are done, use a hot pad to gently massage your largest potato. The massaging also helps release remaining moisture from the potato. If it is soft all around, it's done! Rub off any remaining rock salt from the bottom - you do not want to eat it!! - and save for next time. Yes, as some commenters have said, if you are really in a hurry, potatoes can be microwaved a few minutes prior to baking. But I recommend saving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First attempt and it turned out great, my husband loved it!! tks a lot for a great simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States