Perfect Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I never thought I'd be following a recipe to bake a potato, but I made this recipe using garlic salt instead of regular salt and I baked these at my usual temperature of 400 degrees for one hour. I really don’t think a 300 degree oven is necessary and it takes just way too long. I garnished these with green onion tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I will stick with regular salt. I tried sea salt and it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Good 'ole fashioned baked potato that is easy to prepare ..but be warned it takes a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Good, but the oil dripped all over the oven! Try not to bake too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I used a liberal rub of Kosher salt and didn't bother with the cheese. Absolutely perfect baked poato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
You need to use bacon grease instead of olive oil. That why they call it BACON-GREASE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I baked them at 375 degrees for one hour, and I used corn oil instead of olive oil. They came out great! My family loved them. I'll definitely be making these very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Being pregnant and needing to gain weight (heathfully), I wanted to try to incorporate baked potatoes into my diet more regularly. I am of the belief that microwaving a potato is a far cry from a real baked potato, so I read countless articles online on how to make the perfect oven-baked potato. To my surprise, many recipes were drawn-out and tedious. I tried this one last night and it's perfect without being too time-consuming. I scrubbed my potatoes, rubbed them with olive oil, popped them in the oven at 350 (rather than 300) right on the rack, and they came out perfectly. Baked potatoes shouldn't be rocket science and this recipe is spot-on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Works, is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I think the baking time is off, but the preparation method is perfect! :) I usually just pierce and bake, but we tried with the olive oil and salt this time on the skin and it was wonderful! I bake mine (yukon golds, medium sized) at 375 for 1 hour and they come out perfect. We top ours with a little s&p, sour cream and cheddar cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States