Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I just made an apple pie , not exactly followed the recipe mentioned here,I just used the filling recipe and made the crust using 2 cups all purpose flour with one tsp salt and 1/2 cup shortening. my pie turned out so yummy.I also added some golden syrup into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieKhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I only used the crust recipe from this recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It was delicious!!!! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is the best apple pie recipe that I have ever found. Everyone loves this pie even those that aren't apple fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Two thumbs up! This was super yummy. I didn't have any nutmeg and since it would have added 5 or 6 dollars to the cost I skipped it. I did add half a cup of brown sugar though. I bet the nutmeg would have gone nicely with the pie. I found that 5 large granny smith apples was about 7 cups, however I feel like I could only fit about 5 cups in the deep dish pie crust I bought. I piled the apples about as high as I could have and couldn't use all 7 cups. It did leak all over my oven so I recommend putting some aluminum foil underneath to catch any drippings. Next time I will add the nutmeg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BerlinBakery
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
LOVE this recipe, thanks so much!!! I finally have the result I wanted, a nice and thick sauce, not runny at all!! My german family loved it, finally a pie like we remembered from our life in the US !!! (It's the nutmeg that makes the difference!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerlinBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made two of these and they were very tasty. I cheated and used store bought pie crusts for the bottom of the pie and then topped it with the dough from this recipe. I'm not a big pie baker, but this was very easy to do and resulted in very tasty pie...snacking on the one from yesterday at this moment; second one is in the oven right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent apple pie filling! I used a combination of Jonagolds and Granny Smith's, and I used the pie crust recipe from Barefoot Contessa (brushed with egg yolk per this recipe's instructions)--turned out perfectly! .html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made one pie last night and two this morning. Aaahhhhhh how perfect they came out. Sooooo freakin good. I did add about a half cup of brown sugar to recipe. It turned out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the best apple pie recipe I've found. The crust is ALWAYS flaky, (I add 4 tbsp. of water all at once) and it's just yummy! The only complaint I have is, I have to double the crust to I have enough dough. My dad and husband ate almost the entire pie (except 1 slice that I had) in an evening! It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States