Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe!!!! The crust is super flaky and the pie all together is just over the top delicious! Wouldn't try any other recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V_ooolove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Following review and rating based on FILLING ONLY- To be honest I actually used the "Aunt Carols' Apple Pie" recipe from this site to make me pie, HOWEVER, I had both this and that recipe in my box and the reviews on Aunt Carol's recipe were suggesting so many changes (turns out those changes were much needed) that by the time I made the pie , the filling turned out being almost identical to this recipe instead of Aunt Carol's. I've heard a lot that the best apple pie is made from dfferent types of apples, mixed. So I used 2 Granny-Smith, 2 of this red/yellow type (forgot the name), and one red delicious for this recipe. 5 Apples was a perfect amount for my dish. Sugar amount on this recipe is spot on, as well as the lemon juice, flour etc. I used the 'French Pastry Pie Crust' pie crust recipe from this site and it was FABULOUS. Normally when I purchase apple pies store-bought I Never eat the outer layer extra crust , even if the pie is warmed up, but not with the flaky delicious crust that recipe makes! Look it up and Try it! Baking times for me in this recipe were also perfect and made the apples in my pie cook flawlessly. Not mushy but not too firm. I can't speak for the crust in this recpe, but try the filling in this recpe, you cannot go wrong and you wont regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was my ver first apple pie from scratch and it was Very good, I used a different recipe for the pie crust. I made this recipe trying to find something similar to my grandmother's apple pie, well it was not my grandma's pie, but it was VERY good. I used the recipe for Pie Crust I with it. Would recommend this recipe to anyone who has never made a pie from scratch before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I loved it!! I thought maybe I just did not like apple pies...Then I tried this easy recipe and it was way yummy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hahnbd
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Excellent. I made alterations based on the reviews, and the pie was incredible. The flavors married perfectly. I also added a tsp of vanilla to the filling. Alterations are thusly: Added 1-2tsp. cinnamon and 2 Tbl. of brown sugar to the crust. Used butter instead of Crisco, and 8-10 Tbl. milk instead of water. The filling used 3 types of apples (granny smith, golden delicious, gala). The sugar consisted of equal parts of white and brown. The filling also included a small amount of maple syrup (1/3 cup approx.) and a 1 tsp of vanilla to help "marry" the flavors together (note the nice caramel syrup on the plate (look at photo with a slice of pie and ice cream). Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
delicious. i only used the filling recipe and used premade dough. but it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiecanbake
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
The actual pie was WONDERFUL! So tasty. The crust was awful. It fell apart, cracked, and was way too dry and crumbly. I ended up using my normal pie crust for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My first time making apple pie from scratch, and it was the most amazing apple pie I've ever had. My family was shocked at how good it was. I did not have shortening, so I used butter for both crust and filling, and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Just flat out super! and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I think there is a misprint for the crust recipe - I had to add more water than stated and checked other recipes for a single crust and found for two cups of flour that 8 - 10 tbsps of water are required - After adding more water, the crust was so flaky and yummy -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States