Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Fantastic, awesome, amazing! Can I say more...?? Used my bother0in-laws pie crust recipe and used this filling exactly as written and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Best apple pie ever. The perfect mix of everything. Not too much and not too little. Not too heavy or too syrupy. We used Jonathan apples and it was perfect. Its my new go to recipe for apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe a number of times. Yesterday I made it with granny smith apple and splenda instead of real sugar. IT IS FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This recipe makes little to no sense. A cup of sugar is an absurd amount, it made the pie watery. Really, really watery. Cooking on a high temp and then a low made the crust burn. The pie was so watery and heavy that it made my pie pan collapse into a mess on the floor. Even if the pie had survived, it was so soggy and sugary that it wasn't even appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
It was a lot better than I anticipated. I used Ruby Jon apples. It was one of the best apple pies I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
So delicious!! I had to add a little bit more water to the dough, but other than that it was perfect. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I use McIntosh or a combination of McIntosh & Cortlands as my family and I prefer a softer apple filling that holds together (I NEVER use Granny Smiths). I pre-cook my apple slices, tossed with butter, with sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, a pinch of salt and 2 Tbs. flour. That way you don't get a "tunnel/cave" between the filling and top crust after baking the pie. After allowing the apple mixture to cool completely, I pour it into the bottom crust, place the top crust, and egg wash it after fluting the edges. I make steam vents in the top then sprinkle it with some turbinado sugar. I bake it in the lower third of the oven for 40 to 50 min. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is delightful. I switched it up with 4 cups of apples and 3 cups of blueberries. Everything else was the same. My wife told me that it's hands down the most delightful pie that I've ever made (and I like making pie). I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I used 2 and a half cups flour, 2/3 cup vegetable oil, 2 tablespoons butter and 2/3 cup cold water, 1 tsp salt and 2 tbsps sugar..This makes a tasty flaky, crunchy crust. The filling is perfect as is. My family loves it! I also made lattice crust to make it more appealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was the first time I ever made apple pie, I actually do not bake much at all and was a little nervous. My family LOVED this pie! I used 3 Golden Delicious and 3 Empire apples and it was perfect. This will definitely be my specialty for years to come...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States