Perfect Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have made this several times. Love this recipe. The filling is perfect. I used this combination of apples: 2 large Granny apple 2 Large Rome or Golden Delicious 2 Gala or Fuji (or 1 Gala 1 Fuji)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This recipe is great! It was my first time making the crust from scratch, and it was absolutely delicious! I did add about 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the apple mixture. I also sprinkled a little bit of sugar and cinnnamon on the top crust. This will defiinitely be a go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim N.
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This really is a wonderful recipe. I followed a previous user's advice on how many of which apples to use (2 granny smith,2 Fuji and 2-3 golden delicious) and the filling is perfect every time. One of these days I'll actually make the crust and not cheat with the pre-made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
The crust for this recipe was nothing special. It was neither light nor flaky. I even used butter instead of shortening as people recommended. The filling was even worse. It was so sweet it was inedible. I felt like my teeth were rotting after one bite. The sweetness overwhelmed the apples dramatically. I would not recommend this to anyone who likes apple pie. It is more like caramel apples in a shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is perfect! I didn't have time to make my own dough,so I used a store bought pie crust for the bottom. And I toped it with a crumb mixture of 1/2 a cup of brown sugar,1 cup of flour and a stick of softened butter. Thanks Judy! :)(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is so close to the apple pie that I've been making for close to 50 years. The only difference in the crust is that I use part butter for better flavor. For the apples, I like to use Early Golds but realize that they are not readily available everywhere. The others that I've been successful with are combinations of zestar, jonagolds, ginger golds, pink lady and jonathon. I've never understood the Granny Smith recommendations. They do not cook well and always seem crunchy and sour tasting after the pie is done. If that were my only choice, I would not make apple pie. I also use part brown sugar for a yummy caramel-like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I make about 12-14 apple pies a year for our church Bingo and have quite a "following". I never use only one kind of apple - always a mixture. I have an 85 yr-old man at my Farmers' Market that bags me up a mixture of various apples and I always get rave reviews. I don't like nutmeg, so I only use the 1 tsp of cinnamon (heaped up a little). Other than that, this recipe is quite similar to mine. I always make my own crust. I only ever made one pie (strawberry)with store-bought crust and it went right in the trash can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this pie again tonight -- I always seem to come back to it after trying other recipes (including ones on this site) that don't come close to matching this one. I added 1/4 t. salt to the filling (salt is mentioned in the directions, but not the ingredients list in the recipe) and used Barefoot Contessa's pie crust, but I will never again make another apple pie filling besides this one. This is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The only thing I did differently is added 4 tbs butter instead of 2! This is the best recipe I have tried and is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty close and it was INCREDIBLE! For apples I used 2 large Granny Smith, 2 large Golden Delicious, and 2 Fuji. I substituted the crust and used the Pie Crust IV recipe on this site because I know that is an incredible crust. The final pie was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States