Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good pita bread. I don't have a bread machine so I made the dough using a kitchenaid mixer. It came out really puffy with a nice pocket inside. The trick to a nice pocket is to not over handle the dough too much. I learned this from a friend who is Israeli. We love pita and I will be using this recipe again...it's a real keeper. For those of you without a bread machine, proof dry yeast in warm water with the sugar. When foamy add oil and pour into the flour that has already been mixed with salt. Knead by hand or machine until it's smooth and elastic. You should have a moderate dough (not soft and not firm, in the middle). Don't worry if it's a little sticky. You'll need to roll it out with a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1008 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
I like the use of bread maker in this recipe, it cuts the work in half. The only thing I changed in this recipe was a way of baking the bread. I cooked it in the teflon frying pan on the stove like a pancake, but without any butter or oil. I rolled the bread into 4-5 mm thick circles and cooked each side for about 1 min or so until there were small lightly brown circles on both sides ,(heat knob turned half way). They were 1000 times better then the ones u buy from the shops and whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I have never made pita bread before, and was very impressed with how well it turned out. As I do not have a bread machine, I had to do it by hand by first proofing the yeast with the water and sugar for 10 minutes,then adding the rest together and kneading until smooth, letting it rise for about 1 1/2 hours, until it doubled, then continuing with the rest of the instructions. I did not need to add any more or less flour as with most other bread recipes. It was beautiful!! I also added about 1 tsp of dill weed and some cumin seeds during mixing. It puffed up perfectly in the oven, and I had no problems with it being too hard or crusty. I used the pitas to make falafels, and the finished product was amazing!! I would definately recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I have made this recipe a few times now. I use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour. My husband prefers the taste of these to the store bought brands, even though the first batch were hard as rocks. I have two main suggestions. First bake the pitas with a bowl of water on the bottom rack. Second, place pitas immediately in a paper bag, covering with a towel does not work. The second batch turned out soft and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I'm THRILLED w/ these pitas! Just made them this morning and had friends over for lunch and we enjoyed tuna salad in them. I replaced applesauce for oil, 1 pkt of equal for sugar and used 50% whole wheat flour and 50% bread flour for the 3 C. of regular flour called for! They are FANTASTIC! I think I might even make a 2nd batch this afternoon! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE! - Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Great recipe! Both me and my hubby loved it. It's the first recipe I tried where the pockets could actually hold anything inside. Much better than store bought. I brushed some olive oil on a few of them before baking and it gave them a nice golden color and a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very good pitas! Per others, I added an extra tsp of salt but now wished I wouldn't have...I personally didn't think it needed it esspecially since I added a tsp of onion powder. I don't have a breadmaker so I disolved the yeast in warm water, added the remaining ingrediants and mixed and kneaded for apprx 8 min (or until it felt right). I let it rise for 1.5 hours (until dough had doubled in size) and then followed the recipe per instructed. My oven produced 8 beautiful pitas that are pretty tasty and were easy to make. Just as good as store bought! I used these for "Pork Sausage & Cabbage Pitas" from this site and lunch yesterday was delicious! Thanks Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Very good! Relatively easy to make, though a *little* time consuming. I added 1 cup whole wheat flour and cut the all purpose flour to 2 cups. They were tasty and puffed up nicely. My kids love 'em so this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was a very easy and good recipe. It was great tasting. I did increase the salt to 2 tsp. I made mini gourmet pizzas using it as a crust. I brushed the pita with olive oil and topped it with some canned Italian style tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, feta cheese and chopped green onion and broiled it for several minutes. What a great tasting pita pizza! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
After reading the reviews, I doubled the salt. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder. Mine did not puff up that much before baking, but they still taste good. I also split the flour into half wheat/half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States