Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made this today and I was impressed how easy and delicious this recipe is! A definite make again recipe! I didn't use a bread maker, just made it in my kitchen aid and let it rise for an hour then follow the rest of the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe makes perfect pitas. The best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Although mine didn't puff up a giant hole in the middle, it tastes great. It puffed up little bubbles, but not as a giant mass. Great recipe, simple and easy to make. I put a bit of olive oil on the rolled out dough before I baked it. They took about 5 minutes to brown nicely. I love the texture of the bread, slightly crisp, with a soft bready center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Using a bread machine really cuts down on the work. I proofed the yeast first using 1C warm water & 2 tbsp organic sugar. I went with 1 1/2C bread flour & 1 1/2C AP flour, 1/4C veg oil, & a tbsp salt. After the dough is mixed, I let it rise then punch it down in the bread machine & let it rise again. Following the directions from there, I shaped it into a log, cut into 8 pieces, rolled into balls & let rest for approx 10 min. Then I rolled each flat, as thin as possible, covered with a towel & let rest for 30 min. I placed a pie tin full of water on the bottom rack & used a baking sheet, turned over so the flat side is up, & pre-heated the oven to 500. I sprinkled a little water on the pan & cook 2 at a time. After roughly 3-4 min (when it puffs & the tops are starting to lightly brown), I flip over & cook for about another 2 min, then place in a brown paper bag. Turned out great & the pitas were soft. I've found the key is to try not to overwork the dough & to not overcook. I'll definitely continue using this recipe, with a few slight modifications. Main reason I gave it 4 stars & not 5 is I don't see how using a cake rack would work without the dough sagging between the wires and/or coming out without having wire marks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I can't get over how EASY and SIMPLE this recipe was! I don't have a bread machine, so I made the dough in the late morning and let it rest (as per someone else's instructions - sugar and yeast in water until foamy (5min) and then combine as per instructions) until it doubled in size. I wasn't ready to make the pita yet so I just left it to sit for a while longer. I pulled it out and separated it as per the instructions and since I was at the cottage and the oven was occupied with potatoes, I did these on the grill! Be sure to oil the grill well and watch as they cook but they were fabulous! Soft and warm and perfect to go with the souvlaki I made! i will NEVER buy pita again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These came out great! I sub. 1c whole wheat flour and used the bread machine. I may never buy pitas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did increase the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/4 cup of toasted sesame seeds as I wanted that particular flavor in the pita to go along with a curried garbanzo beans dish and the pita's were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome !! It's my first time trying to make pita. I was a little hesitant. However, it was PERFECT and surprisingly easy. Much better than store bought. Next time I won't put the raw dough to close to edges of rack towards the back of the oven. They cooked faster than the rest and had a few brown patches that I caught just in time. Pitas that were baking at the center of rack and towards the front were bakery window worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I don't have a bread machine so I made it by hand. Used honey instead of sugar and safflower oil instead of veg oil. I let rise after mixing, used parchment paper on my baking sheets and let them rise on the parchment after rolling out. So FUN to watch them puff up in the oven (through the oven window, with the oven light on). When split there is a perfect pocket inside there. Taste is superior to any store bought pita I've ever eaten (infact, I thought I didn't like pita bread. . .turns out I DO!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Have made this recipe several times and my family loves it every time. Thank you. We have never tried to split it to make pita pockets, but somehow the consistency of the bread does not seem like it would work. Not like store bought pita at all. Better tasting, but not as functional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States