Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I can't get over how EASY and SIMPLE this recipe was! I don't have a bread machine, so I made the dough in the late morning and let it rest (as per someone else's instructions - sugar and yeast in water until foamy (5min) and then combine as per instructions) until it doubled in size. I wasn't ready to make the pita yet so I just left it to sit for a while longer. I pulled it out and separated it as per the instructions and since I was at the cottage and the oven was occupied with potatoes, I did these on the grill! Be sure to oil the grill well and watch as they cook but they were fabulous! Soft and warm and perfect to go with the souvlaki I made! i will NEVER buy pita again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These came out great! I sub. 1c whole wheat flour and used the bread machine. I may never buy pitas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did increase the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/4 cup of toasted sesame seeds as I wanted that particular flavor in the pita to go along with a curried garbanzo beans dish and the pita's were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome !! It's my first time trying to make pita. I was a little hesitant. However, it was PERFECT and surprisingly easy. Much better than store bought. Next time I won't put the raw dough to close to edges of rack towards the back of the oven. They cooked faster than the rest and had a few brown patches that I caught just in time. Pitas that were baking at the center of rack and towards the front were bakery window worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I don't have a bread machine so I made it by hand. Used honey instead of sugar and safflower oil instead of veg oil. I let rise after mixing, used parchment paper on my baking sheets and let them rise on the parchment after rolling out. So FUN to watch them puff up in the oven (through the oven window, with the oven light on). When split there is a perfect pocket inside there. Taste is superior to any store bought pita I've ever eaten (infact, I thought I didn't like pita bread. . .turns out I DO!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Have made this recipe several times and my family loves it every time. Thank you. We have never tried to split it to make pita pockets, but somehow the consistency of the bread does not seem like it would work. Not like store bought pita at all. Better tasting, but not as functional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Don’t let something like this intimidate you. These are very easy to make and they hold their shape very well both before and after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a fantastic pita recipe! I used whole wheat flour and let them rise only while the oven pre-heated they puffed up great...very happy with them. I tried brushing the tops with olive oil before baking and they turned out like naan bread....still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERINE418

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
It was my first time making pita bread so they didn't all turn out for me. Defiantly going to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lelena109
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Fantastic recipe. Had no idea pitas would be so easy. I used EVOO and will try honey instead of sugar next time as suggested by other reviews. Proofed my yeast first and didn't use a bread maker - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States