Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I only rated it because it won't let me leave it blank. Let's pretend I didn't (hate to rate it when I don't follow it exactly). So basically when you make it in your KitchenAid, it is perrrrrfect. The dough is really easy to work with. I proofed the yeast by adding it to the warm water with the sugar. I then added the flour and salt with the KitechenAid on number2. It took like a minute or two to mix the dough. Then I took it out and kneaded it by hand for a minute. I then greased the bowl and placed my smooth dough ball inside. I covered it with plastic wrap and then a towel and placed it in my oven for 1 hr and a half. I took it out, kneaded it for a few seconds and then rolled it out like a log. I then cut them (with a knife) into about 14 small chunks; rolled them into balls. Then rolled them flat w/the rolling pin. You'll need a bit of flour every time it starts sticking to the pin or board. I covered them with a towel, but not too long, just 10 min and baked them on 425 for about 10 min. Note: When I used White Whole Wheat flour I noticed you will need to sprinkle in a little bit more water during the mixing process. And it seemed to need a bit less cooking time. We really enjoyed and the hubby says its better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Amazing restaurant quality. Takes a bit of time but goes great with humus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe turned out VERY well. Took a bit longer than planned, but very tasty. I stuffed some with pizza filling and had a couple left over. Left them in a Ziploc and microwaved and the pitas were so soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I LOVE this bread for many, many reasons. I doubled the batch and I am so glad I did, and yes it bakes in 5 minutes, another great reason right there. We dipped it in hummus, olive oil, seasoned olive oil, and made mini pizzas--all in one day! Now I am thinking this bread would be great for calzones since my house smelled like a pizzaria while it baked. I added a handful of bread dipping seasoning to the dough, ya know the mix of seasoning that the nice Italian restaurants place in the dish with the olive oil. Definately brush with olive oil. I can't say enough things about this bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have to say that as a general rule I stay away from anything that requires the use of a rolling pin, but am very glad I made an exception in this case. It was so good that I had to make another batch the next day! Used it to make gyros and it was perfect. I have also made it with a mixture of whole wheat flour and whole wheat white flour and while not quite as good (for me) it was still excellent. For me the amount of salt was perfect. I will never buy pita bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Was easy to make (I make a lot of breads)and turned out great.They were nicely puffed with good pockets. (I used olive oil instead of vegetable.) Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This turned out perfect. I did add a bit of sesame oil at the end to add a bit of flavor. I made it twice and the second time I over cooked it a bit. Make sure you take them out the second you see any browning. Covering with a damp kitchen towel is also absolutely essential unless you want crunchy pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevinp321

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that these pitas excel far above those you can buy at the store. I've tried baking them as directed in the 500 degree oven and the reviewer-suggested method of cooking in a teflon skillet on the stove. Both methods work, and the stove top is definitely more energy efficient, but it did not produce the nice pockets characteristic of pitas. I will stick to the oven method when at all possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yum! Notes on the cooking: I found them too small for our purpose (gyros) and so ended up combining them into 6 segments, not 12. I tried cooking half of the pitas on a stovetop (as a reviewer suggested: 1-2 minutes per side in a non-stick pan with no oil) and half in the oven per the recipe. The stove pita bread I cooked at medium-high, after heating the pan for a few mins at high, and made nice, though flatter bread (which could still be bisected as you would expect), while the oven ones puffed up tremendously per some of the photos you can see on the site. My family actually *preferred* the flatter ones (which took much less time and were easy to check for doneness as with a pancake) for gyros--we just put the meat inside and folded them. So I advise anyone to try the stovetop method if you want a flatter "heartier" pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made this today and I was impressed how easy and delicious this recipe is! A definite make again recipe! I didn't use a bread maker, just made it in my kitchen aid and let it rise for an hour then follow the rest of the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States