Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Was easy to make (I make a lot of breads)and turned out great.They were nicely puffed with good pockets. (I used olive oil instead of vegetable.) Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This turned out perfect. I did add a bit of sesame oil at the end to add a bit of flavor. I made it twice and the second time I over cooked it a bit. Make sure you take them out the second you see any browning. Covering with a damp kitchen towel is also absolutely essential unless you want crunchy pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevinp321

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that these pitas excel far above those you can buy at the store. I've tried baking them as directed in the 500 degree oven and the reviewer-suggested method of cooking in a teflon skillet on the stove. Both methods work, and the stove top is definitely more energy efficient, but it did not produce the nice pockets characteristic of pitas. I will stick to the oven method when at all possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yum! Notes on the cooking: I found them too small for our purpose (gyros) and so ended up combining them into 6 segments, not 12. I tried cooking half of the pitas on a stovetop (as a reviewer suggested: 1-2 minutes per side in a non-stick pan with no oil) and half in the oven per the recipe. The stove pita bread I cooked at medium-high, after heating the pan for a few mins at high, and made nice, though flatter bread (which could still be bisected as you would expect), while the oven ones puffed up tremendously per some of the photos you can see on the site. My family actually *preferred* the flatter ones (which took much less time and were easy to check for doneness as with a pancake) for gyros--we just put the meat inside and folded them. So I advise anyone to try the stovetop method if you want a flatter "heartier" pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Made this today and I was impressed how easy and delicious this recipe is! A definite make again recipe! I didn't use a bread maker, just made it in my kitchen aid and let it rise for an hour then follow the rest of the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe makes perfect pitas. The best I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Although mine didn't puff up a giant hole in the middle, it tastes great. It puffed up little bubbles, but not as a giant mass. Great recipe, simple and easy to make. I put a bit of olive oil on the rolled out dough before I baked it. They took about 5 minutes to brown nicely. I love the texture of the bread, slightly crisp, with a soft bready center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Using a bread machine really cuts down on the work. I proofed the yeast first using 1C warm water & 2 tbsp organic sugar. I went with 1 1/2C bread flour & 1 1/2C AP flour, 1/4C veg oil, & a tbsp salt. After the dough is mixed, I let it rise then punch it down in the bread machine & let it rise again. Following the directions from there, I shaped it into a log, cut into 8 pieces, rolled into balls & let rest for approx 10 min. Then I rolled each flat, as thin as possible, covered with a towel & let rest for 30 min. I placed a pie tin full of water on the bottom rack & used a baking sheet, turned over so the flat side is up, & pre-heated the oven to 500. I sprinkled a little water on the pan & cook 2 at a time. After roughly 3-4 min (when it puffs & the tops are starting to lightly brown), I flip over & cook for about another 2 min, then place in a brown paper bag. Turned out great & the pitas were soft. I've found the key is to try not to overwork the dough & to not overcook. I'll definitely continue using this recipe, with a few slight modifications. Main reason I gave it 4 stars & not 5 is I don't see how using a cake rack would work without the dough sagging between the wires and/or coming out without having wire marks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I can't get over how EASY and SIMPLE this recipe was! I don't have a bread machine, so I made the dough in the late morning and let it rest (as per someone else's instructions - sugar and yeast in water until foamy (5min) and then combine as per instructions) until it doubled in size. I wasn't ready to make the pita yet so I just left it to sit for a while longer. I pulled it out and separated it as per the instructions and since I was at the cottage and the oven was occupied with potatoes, I did these on the grill! Be sure to oil the grill well and watch as they cook but they were fabulous! Soft and warm and perfect to go with the souvlaki I made! i will NEVER buy pita again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These came out great! I sub. 1c whole wheat flour and used the bread machine. I may never buy pitas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States