Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I rarely leave reviews, but I had to profess my love for these! Made them many times now, and they come out WONDERFUL... a ton better than supermarket bought, and as good as I've had in some bakeries in Israel! I substitute 50% whole wheat flour now, and they are just as delicious! The pockets come out perfect. So puffy and soft... mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Turned out very well. Tried this recipe with 1 cup whole wheat and 2 cup bread flour and used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar - kneaded the dough in the bread machine - turned out great. Baked it in a toaster oven at 450deg (max) - puffed up beautifully in 7 mins. Tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ingram
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I follow the recipe exactly as written and how it turns out is based on your level of experience making pita bread. It took me three batches to get the hang of it. :) My first batch my pitas puffed but they were baked too long or I had too much flour as they weren't as soft as I would have liked. My second batch, I rolled them too thin , I let them rise too long (you only need to let them rise for 20 minutes or so) and I didn't flour my surface enough so they stuck to my countertop and it was difficult to transfer to the racks. My third batch was the most successful of all three from what I have learned from my prior batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Easy, easy, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Such a simple recipe! I followed all the instructions to a T and the pita pockets were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was just ok for me. They did puff up nicely in the oven to make true pita pockets, but they were more bland than plain white bread. I may read through some more reviews to see if folks are adding anything to give them more ooomph. I would give 5 stars for presentation, but the flavor was so dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Loved this pita bread! It actually puffed in the oven unlike others I have tried! Substituted mostly whole wheat flour except for a 2 cups white and they still turned out soft! No more store bought pitas for our family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely amazing and impressive!! Super easy to make, though a bit time consuming since I only baked two at a time, however, worth every minute! Outstanding!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The perfect pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not very flavorful, but guess what? Pita isn't. Incredibly easy to make - I whip them up quickly to use for kid's lunch. We do semi-homemade "lunchables" instead of buying that they call pizza. Much better to give my son real food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States