Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was just ok for me. They did puff up nicely in the oven to make true pita pockets, but they were more bland than plain white bread. I may read through some more reviews to see if folks are adding anything to give them more ooomph. I would give 5 stars for presentation, but the flavor was so dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Loved this pita bread! It actually puffed in the oven unlike others I have tried! Substituted mostly whole wheat flour except for a 2 cups white and they still turned out soft! No more store bought pitas for our family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely amazing and impressive!! Super easy to make, though a bit time consuming since I only baked two at a time, however, worth every minute! Outstanding!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The perfect pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not very flavorful, but guess what? Pita isn't. Incredibly easy to make - I whip them up quickly to use for kid's lunch. We do semi-homemade "lunchables" instead of buying that they call pizza. Much better to give my son real food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I only rated it because it won't let me leave it blank. Let's pretend I didn't (hate to rate it when I don't follow it exactly). So basically when you make it in your KitchenAid, it is perrrrrfect. The dough is really easy to work with. I proofed the yeast by adding it to the warm water with the sugar. I then added the flour and salt with the KitechenAid on number2. It took like a minute or two to mix the dough. Then I took it out and kneaded it by hand for a minute. I then greased the bowl and placed my smooth dough ball inside. I covered it with plastic wrap and then a towel and placed it in my oven for 1 hr and a half. I took it out, kneaded it for a few seconds and then rolled it out like a log. I then cut them (with a knife) into about 14 small chunks; rolled them into balls. Then rolled them flat w/the rolling pin. You'll need a bit of flour every time it starts sticking to the pin or board. I covered them with a towel, but not too long, just 10 min and baked them on 425 for about 10 min. Note: When I used White Whole Wheat flour I noticed you will need to sprinkle in a little bit more water during the mixing process. And it seemed to need a bit less cooking time. We really enjoyed and the hubby says its better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Amazing restaurant quality. Takes a bit of time but goes great with humus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe turned out VERY well. Took a bit longer than planned, but very tasty. I stuffed some with pizza filling and had a couple left over. Left them in a Ziploc and microwaved and the pitas were so soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I LOVE this bread for many, many reasons. I doubled the batch and I am so glad I did, and yes it bakes in 5 minutes, another great reason right there. We dipped it in hummus, olive oil, seasoned olive oil, and made mini pizzas--all in one day! Now I am thinking this bread would be great for calzones since my house smelled like a pizzaria while it baked. I added a handful of bread dipping seasoning to the dough, ya know the mix of seasoning that the nice Italian restaurants place in the dish with the olive oil. Definately brush with olive oil. I can't say enough things about this bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have to say that as a general rule I stay away from anything that requires the use of a rolling pin, but am very glad I made an exception in this case. It was so good that I had to make another batch the next day! Used it to make gyros and it was perfect. I have also made it with a mixture of whole wheat flour and whole wheat white flour and while not quite as good (for me) it was still excellent. For me the amount of salt was perfect. I will never buy pita bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States