Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I was very happy that this turned out the way it did. It was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Begent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Made these in my bread maker on the dough setting no trouble at all. They were just the thing to go with the Greek salad. I will say the hardest part was rolling them out they need to be as thin as they can be. I painted a mixture of garlic powder and olive oil on each side as I fried them. I think they would have done just as well in the oven which I'll try next time. They are great so much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I don't have a bread maker and I was rushed for time so I skipped raising it entirely. (lol) I did let them rest for 30 minutes after I had rolled them out (didn't cover them) and they got a little fluffy. Then I baked as directed and threw them out of the oven into a huge paper sack that I would then close up after each batch. The result? PERFECT! I am sure they must be lacking something from missing the rise time but I can't imagine what since they are so perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
easy enough. i didnt follow perfectly, i dont have a bread machine and it has been my experience to put add the yeast to the warm water for a good four minutes with the occasional slow stir before whipping it all together with a wooden spoon. needed the basic ingredients and amounts, i'm very happy with the outcome. i made a greek dip and brought the pitas over to a family member's for dinner. impressed, they wanted to know where we bought them. whole foods? fresh market? nope, naw. made them and baked them on a cast iron griddle in the oven at 500°. i shouldnt be so proud, this recipe reads very easy and it was easy to make like that too. so, many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakomos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Easy! And OMG, home made pitas!!! I cooked them on a pizza stone 4 minutes. I had no paper bags, so I just used a spray bottle and spayed them with water and then then covered them with a dry towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
All of my pitas puffed up nicely and have nice pockets. I didn't follow the instructions to a T though. I let the balls raise for 30 minutes, then rolled them out and let them sit for 15 minutes or so as the oven heated up. I layered the rounds between floured kitchen towels and I didn't have any trouble with the dough sticking. I took one star off because the damp towel method of softening the pitas did not work as expected. The only pitas that softened were the ones on the top and bottom. Therefore, I had to keep taking the top and bottom ones out of the stack to let the next set soften. It took a couple hours to soften all eight pitas. Next time I'll layer the baked pitas and damp towels, instead of wrapping a towel around the stack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
my kids gobbled it up in no time! it's quite tho original, perfect with feta and tomato salad with olives, like you were in Santorini... I made the dough in the bread machne, it came out a bit sticky so I worked it with flour. Do not worry because it doesn't rise much, all the raising happens inside the oven, so to speak. I was in a hurry, so no brown paper bag and no damp towel either, straight from the oven on the table, but I reckon they didn't suffer for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great recipe bread was very tasty, I did not bake it in the oven but heated them in a frying pan until it puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Tasty tasty tasty bread. I have made this at least a dozen times. I don't use a bread machine. Mix warm water with yeast - set for a few minutes. Mix rest ingredients in. Put in slightly warm oven for 30. Follow rest of recipe. I don't have wire rack but do use the boil pan. 500 for 6 minutes. I end up with puffy tasty bread almost every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States