Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These were great! Very puffy and very tasty. Mine did not come out very big, so I think next time I will roll them a bit thinner before baking, and also maybe make fewer than 8 per batch. We will definitely make these again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
NICE! I found this recipe when I realized I was at home and didn't have bread for lunch the next day and was 30 miles from a grocery store. I googled "bread machine pita" and pow! I followed the recipe (mostly) and did add 1 1/2 cups wheat flour to make it healthier along with adding honey in place of white sugar. I tried it on the griddle like one user suggested, but mine only goes to 400 degrees. Didn't work as well. Put them in a 500 degree oven and they came out PERFECT! I love the way they taste, love the fact that they are more natural and I didn't have to get in the car and drive to get them! Thanks for posting the recipe. Never buying pitas at the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I reduced to 6 servings to accommodate the size of my bread machine. I served warm pitas with fresh home made hummus. Guests couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Enjoyed this as written, but made some changes to suit our tastes. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and subbed 1/4 flaxseed for the A/P flour and subbed a cup of wheat flour for the a/p flour. These were delicious toasted with hummus. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made these because I had seen them made into pizza and it looked delicious. After they were all gone my brother came to me and said, "when are you going to make them again?" I really enjoyed them and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a perfect recipe for pizza dough! Thin and crispy. I make it all the time. We prefer this to take out. Take it out of the machine when done and roll out two large pizzas. Top as desired and bake for 13-18 minutes at 425F. I brush some garlic butter on the crust before i bake as well. Was delicious as pita bread too. One of the few recipes I did not need to alter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good and easy to make pita shells. I proofed my yeast and used a stand mixer, but followed the basic recipe as written. Will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love this recipe! I was scared that it would not turn out, but it was perfect. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Amazing they went very well with our donairs tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is a very simple, reliable pita recipe. I didn't use my bread maker, but used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Just a hint...use garlic-infused oil for a little more kick! I use a tortilla press to flatten, since it is much faster for me, and I have tiled counters that are hell for rolling anything out on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallee Glickler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States