Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I've been making these all day to use next week at a party I'm attending. My plan is to cut them into 8ths and serve with various dips and such. They are actually almost TOO good as my husband is having a hard time keeping himself from eating them. Instead of baking, I've been frying my pitas in a large cast iron skillet with a little olive oil. So yummy!! And if yours don't puff quite right, don't worry about it, they will still taste great. Just use them as you might a tortilla (i.e. flat or rolled around fillings) instead of as a pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used 1/2 AP and 1/2 wheat. They turned out wonderful.. Checking the supermarket prices for bread nowadays.... it is a blessing to know how to bake your own!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T9CHEBIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good pita bread recipe. I did make the following variations: used seasoning salt instead of regular salt to give a little extra kick. I found the oven time took about 15 minutes when putting the bread on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very nice cooked on a grill or comal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very good recipe! I cut them into pieces after baking & rather than cover them with a damp towel - I left them in the open. I then "peeled" the pieces in two to make "Chips"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal. Even making this without a bread machine was easy. I proofed the yeast, added oil to the yeast once the yeast was foamy and, with my KitchenAid going, added the yeast mix to the salt and flour. I didn't work the dough that much and followed the recipe after that. The flavor is amazing and puts store-bought pitas to shame! Well worth the labor of love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Turned out pretty good but stayed pretty hard. They didn't soften very well in the paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana C
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was my very first time making pita bread, and it came out perfectly! We had ours with roasted garlic tzatziki (recipe also found on this site) and Greek meatballs. I will NEVER buy store-bought pitas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! I'm under a gluten-free diet and was afraid of the resulting pitas...they were soooo good and only had to change the flour!!!!! Thank u!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 91-100 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States