Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I have made these a handful of times and they are great my breadmachine is mussing its paddle so I make in my food processor with dough blade and it work well I usually make half regular pita and make other half into zaatar bread 3/4cup zattar blend I get at my local halal market with 1/2 cup olive oil mix well. Put pit as on a stone which I do not have so I preheat a cookie sheet upside down when I turn on oven bake put pit as on sheet add 2 or 3 tablespoons zattar leaving a edge without on pita and cook till brown on edges about 5 min at 465 Fahrenheit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
The best!....I was very nervous about placing the pita on a cake cooling rack before putting in the oven......genius! I bought a rack for very little money in Wilko, thought hey ho! and cooked two in my aga. Oh boy...did these bad boys puff up?! I was so impressed. Thank you so much for a fab recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne Rominger
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
So easy! The insides were soft and the outside crisp ! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Rominger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I am so glad to have discovered this recipe! I love the way these pitas come out. I have tried others but these are the best!!!! I am getting ready to make my second batch - the first 8 pitas have disappeared within a day! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Delicious. I didn't have cooling racks so I cooked on stainless steel cookie sheets and they came out fine. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, and my pitas turned out great! I'm really excited to have found this recipe. I usually buy pita breads at the store, and I find them to be very dry and crumbly. No more store bought pitas for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I added a little bit more water 1 1/4 cup to 1 1/2 cup maybe because i used Unbleached flour. A trick to make it puff is to heat the baking sheet before putting the dough on it, you might put it in the oven while the oven is heating up. I don't have a bread machine I followed a review to mix the yeast with water and sugar first then I used my kitchenAid (don't knead so much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
These are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This dough was so nice to work with! Next time around I will be sure to not roll the dough too thin... it was so neaat to watch it puff out as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We really liked these! This pita tasted sooo much better than what we can buy in the store, and who knew it was so easy to make! I bake them on my pizza stone instead of a cake rack and turned the oven to 450 instead of 500. I've made it twice so far with good results. The second batch I forgot to roll the balls out before letting them rise. After the rising time I realized my mistake, rolled them out, and let them rise again. I was afraid they wouldn't puff up in the oven after all that, but they still puffed and came out okay! They're great with Greek salad and for sandwiches. for lunches or snacking we wrap them individually in a paper towel and microwave for 10-15 seconds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States