Peppy's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, and my pitas turned out great! I'm really excited to have found this recipe. I usually buy pita breads at the store, and I find them to be very dry and crumbly. No more store bought pitas for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I added a little bit more water 1 1/4 cup to 1 1/2 cup maybe because i used Unbleached flour. A trick to make it puff is to heat the baking sheet before putting the dough on it, you might put it in the oven while the oven is heating up. I don't have a bread machine I followed a review to mix the yeast with water and sugar first then I used my kitchenAid (don't knead so much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
These are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This dough was so nice to work with! Next time around I will be sure to not roll the dough too thin... it was so neaat to watch it puff out as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
We really liked these! This pita tasted sooo much better than what we can buy in the store, and who knew it was so easy to make! I bake them on my pizza stone instead of a cake rack and turned the oven to 450 instead of 500. I've made it twice so far with good results. The second batch I forgot to roll the balls out before letting them rise. After the rising time I realized my mistake, rolled them out, and let them rise again. I was afraid they wouldn't puff up in the oven after all that, but they still puffed and came out okay! They're great with Greek salad and for sandwiches. for lunches or snacking we wrap them individually in a paper towel and microwave for 10-15 seconds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really liked this recipe using the breadmaking machine. It is actually a fun bread to make because it puffs up. I had no problems handling it or rolling it. I under cooked them on purpose so mine aren't as browned as the photo. Made a nice baked falafel recipe from this site to go inside. Nice for Meatless Mondays! And I have leftover bread for other types of sandwiches as a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Followed it to a T.... Down to the paper bag...They turned out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Wow!! Definitely the keeper! Used bread maker dough setting. Instead of baking as bread, I rolled out very thin and cut it in wedges and baked (used air fryer) to make some pita chips. They were sooo yummy! The flavor and the texture was right on and I know it would make great pita bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr.Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was easy and tasted amazing! We stuffed them with turkey and gruyere, and will doing that again real soon! Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr.Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I had to make pita bread for a school function hosting 200 people. This was the first recipe I found and it was a huge success! Next time, I'm going to try to add a little flavor to it and see what comes of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States