Peppers Roasted with Garlic, Basil and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I have been on the Ornish diet (very low fat vegetarian) for a couple of months. I love it, but it didn't take long to see this that this diet horrifies most Americans, and is very difficult to find recipes that accomodate my guidelines. I'm always looking for foods that will delight my guests without compromising my hard work. This one makes such a beautiful presentation and so savory, they will not even notice how healthy it is! I couldn't wait to try it, so just used what I had on hand, which meant only 2 cloves of garlic, cherry tomatoes and basil, from my garden, and a well-seasoned stone baking dish (so no oil needed). I sampled it with the 2 vinegars I had: balsamic, which was very robust. Used in very small quantity, not too bad. My favorite was a delicate unflavored brown rice vinegar. I heaped extra fresh (not cooked) basil, for more flavor & it was delicious. Next time will add even more herbs, like tarragon, chives, or rosemary, as well. I think cheese would mask the flowery flavor. I will make this often and have fun experimenting variations - thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
was great but was even better with some fresh mozzeralla in small chunks (will slightly bake into the mix!)....yummmy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANN31
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Delicious! I made a few changes, though. I added some chopped fresh mushrooms and some parmesan cheese to the mixture. I also topped with a sprinkling of soft whole wheat bread crumbs for the second 15 minutes in the oven. I didn't have any herb vinegar so I left that out and they were still excellent. My husband claims to hate peppers but he actually complimented me on how good these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made this last night as a healthy and low-carb side dish to spicy sloppy joes. I think I forgot the garlic but I did mix in some steamed asparagus tips with the tomatoes and basil, and used balsamic vinegar. It was a big hit, and much more filling than I had anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
quick & easy! I ended up adding some mozzarella as well as some Italian seasoned bread crumbs. VERY YUMMY! Will definitely make this one again! (oh, also I didn't have fresh basil so I used the dried kind... STILL YUMMY!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Landenberg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I haven't tried this recipe, yet. I bought the ingredients and will make it for our Super Bowl party. I wanted to make a suggestion, I think this recipe needs some cheese. I plan on adding some mozzarella cheese to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made these for a group of family and friends. They were awesome! I did quickly par-boil the peppers which made them a bit more tender, added a few toasted pine nuts, and a sprinkle of parm cheese. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These peppers were pretty good. I added some chopped mushrooms and spring onions into the mix as well as some mozzarella cheese. I had leftovers which tasted better the next day re-heated! Will maybe make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Yep! This is a keeper. I looked for a way to use yellow, red and green peppers that were on their way out. This was it. I didn't have cherry tomatoes, so simply sliced up a tomato instead. I took the advice of others and added Parmesan cheese, plus shoved in sliced mushrooms and chopped chive. I also added bread crumbs but waited until the foil came off. I cooked it longer than required only because we were grilling and the rest of the food wasn't quite ready. I loved the slightly burned flavor. This is an awesome recipe that lends itself to a myriad of variances. I'll be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Five stars for presentation, for sure - they were beautiful. As for taste, however, they were a little boring and I would only rate them an average 3-stars. Because they were so impressive looking and can be made ahead, however, they're definitely worth working with to improve the flavor. Granted, neither Hubs nor I used the vinegar because we knew we wouldn't like it - I gave them a good drizzle of olive oil instead, particularly since I didn't want them to dry out during baking. Even a good sprinkle of grated Parmesan would have been good... or maybe onion. Or crisped, crumbled bacon. Or any number of other possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States