Pepperoni Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is awesome. Great idea! I tweaked it a little, adding some garlic and shredded colby jack cheese. But it's a really good simple recipe. I love how easy it is. :)It tastes great. I paired it with another squash dish (butternut squash pasta) and it was great. It seemed very "autumn". :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halley Jarrett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I am hooked! Zero Carbs :) I added the parmesan cheese to the zucchini stuffing after cooking also added a couple cloves of garlic then salt and pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I liked it! I did however make a few additions. I scooped out the zucchini innards with a spoon and coated the skins with olive oil and italian seasonings. I baked the skins for 10 minutes and then added parmesan to the bottoms. I then put them back in the oven for five more minutes. After removing them from the oven, I layered pizza sauce, the zucchini and onion mixture, and hamburger. I covered these toppings with a layer of cheddar cheese and added the sliced pepperoni and another bit of cheddar cheese. Just like a pizza! I do not like zucchini much, but this was delicious! My kids did not like it, however, and I think it was due to the mushy texture of the "crust." Next time I may crisp the zucchini boats, so they crunch when bitten into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I used a big zucchini fresh from the garden. I found the zucchini, onion, pepperoni mixture to be "soupy". I added some breadcrumbs, more cheese and garlic and it turned it into a more traditional stuffing to try to salvage the meal. Maybe I had too much zucchini?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I changed things a tad by layering up from the bottom, tomato sauce, the onion and zucchini mixture (with a fresh garlic clove added), and motzerella cheese with the Parmesan cheese. My zucchini were on the large side so I cooked just them in the oven for a bit before adding the sauce, stuffing mixture and cheese. Also, it took longer then the 12 minutes to cook them so I backed the temp down to 350 degrees and left them in for 20-25 minutes. This was AWESOME. It was like having gluten free pizza and even my VERY picky son liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Hauenstein
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was FANTASTIC!! Even my 6 year old, who has an aversion to all squash, LOVED it!! I tweaked it a bit after reading other reviews and it turned out perfect. I pre-baked the shells for about 10 min while I prepared the filling. After sauteing the zucchini, onion, and pepperoni (I added minced garlic & Italian seasoning), I mixed in about 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs. I coated shells with cream cheese & sprinkled with fresh grated Parmesan before filling. I sprinkled feta crumbles and some more Parmesan on top of filling, baked 12 min and then broiled a quick 2 min to get a bit of crunch on top. They were absolutely delicious...definitely going to make this again...SOON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Hauenstein

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this for breakfast this morning, and I really enjoyed it. The pepperoni made things a bit greasy, though. I did sprinkle the shell with a dusting of garlic powder before I put the mixture into the shells. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I took the basics of this recipe, and really tweeked it a lot. I did use some pepperoni, but also used sweet itaian sausage, added mushrooms, garlic, and red bell pepper. Also, after scooping the meat of the zucchini out, I put a layer of grated mozarella inside the skins, then added the remaining ingredients. This gave the sausage, pepperoni, and the rest of the fillng something to grab on to. I finished by topping with fresh romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Good recipe. I used a bit more pepperoni and added diced roma tomatoes. I also used a 4 cheese Italian blend from the supermarket. It came out a bit overstuffed though, next time I'll have to use 3 zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe was very good and easy! I did bake the hollowed out zucchinis for 20 minutes at 370 since I don't like biting into crunchy zucchini, but other than that I didn't change it at all. Since I baked it twice the shells came out nice and tender and the filling in it was simple and wonderful. My husband and I really liked it, but the two year old didn't so much...oh well, we'll have it again for sure! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Singingchef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States