Pepperoni Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was ok as written but, with some tweaking, I think it could be really good. First of all, I thought the pepperoni was really bland; some good-quality salty proscuitto would have been better. Some fresh herbs wouldn't have done any harm either. Finally, if you are going to serve it as I did, alongside a sauceless piece of meat, I think a rich creamy Parmesan sauce would be wonderful. I think I'll fiddle around with this, and see what I can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
We made this recipe as printed only before adding the zucchini and onions into the zucchini boats, sprinked the boat with an Italian blend of cheese, added some Italian seasoning to the zucchini and onion mixture and filled the boat. Then sprinkled more cheese on top. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was good however, as usual, I modded it to my tastes therefore 4 stars. I microwaved the zucchini prior to cutting for an easier time with that. After scooping out the inside, I placed the boats on a cookie sheet sprayed with Pam and then covered them in garlic salt. (Should have patted dry with a paper towel...) I mixed the zucchini and diced onion with the pepperoni and a TON of garlic salt as I love it. Also salt and peppered it. I layed down pizza sauce and some cheddar (all I had) prior to filling back up the boats. When loaded, sprinkled with salt, pepper, and more cheddar. They were DELICIOUS...thanks for this healthy "pizza".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I made this twice already and we love it! I used tiny cubed salami since we have a 2-year old and a 9-month old and pepperoni would've been too spicy. I also used sliced green onion instead of the white onion and some feta cheese. I put a couple of dots of cream cheese on the bottom of the zucchini boats before adding the remaining ingredients and it was so good and creamy! My kids absolutely loved it - especially the mozarella on top. My nine-month old ate nearly an entire half by himself! We had guests over and I made it again, and that's all they would talk about. I used 8 zucchinis since our garden was overflowing with them, and I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Emma Sopt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
We found this recipe intriguing. However, it did indeed need some "tweaking". We added butter to saute the veggies, peeled and chopped the zucchini and added salsa & a Mexican cheese blend. We then baked it in a casserole dish instead of the shells. It turned out so well that we've made large batches and frozen it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I liked this alot. They make a great lunch or slice them in 1" slices after baking and serve as appetizers. I sauted the onions pepperoni and zucchini "insides" with salt and pepper. I do recommend salt and peppering the inside of the zucchini before stuffing so that gets some flavor as well. I topped it off with some freshly grated parmasian and baked in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was the first time in my life I ate zucchini and loved it! My husband and 7yr old also raved. I added a smear of cream cheese to the bottom of the boats before putting the fillings in, as someone else suggested doing. I used a grapefruit spoon to scoop out the middles. On the bigger squash I mistakenly left too much rind - make sure you scoop them as thin as you can. This recipe did take me closer to 25 min to prep, but that's probably because it was my first time trying to stuff a zucchini! Great recipe I'll be buying a lot more zucchini in my weekly trips to the farmers market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by synchroanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think I'll need to either pre-cook the zucchini "boats" first or adjust the cook time next time because mine came out a little under cooked. But my husband really liked it. We eat a ton of zucchini and I'll definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I know you can't rate a recipe if you change it alot, but I made this with turkey kielbasa chopped small, and it was really great! Even my two and four-year olds liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I used turkey peppersoni and although I added fresh garlic, cayenne, and Italian seasonings, I still think it was missing something...more cheese or even cream cheese perhaps? I liked the pepperoni with the zucchini but I won't be craving this recipe as written. I also used a melon baller to scoop out the center of the zucchinis; very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States