Pepperoni Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was very good, however the next time around I will do a few things different. I will get the dough as thin as possible and make the strips for the braid smaller and thinner. Also I will add a good bit more cheese. I did need an extra set of hands to help pinch the sides together while laying on the braid. I did do the egg wash and it came out golden brown, looked beautiful and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very easy and delicious. I sautéed a small onion, 2 cloves garlic, and 1/2 TBS of italian seasoning to add to the cheese/pepperoni filling. I only used 1lb of refrigerated pizza dough. I put the filling in, and rolled it up like a traditional stromboli. I'm sure the braiding would have been decorative, but I didn't want that much bread, and wanted to make this an easy recipe for a weekday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made these tonight for dinner, and they were a huge hit! I made my own dough, and I didn't have enough pepperoni, so I added some other meats. I also added saute'ed garlic, onion and bell peppers. After baking, I brushed the tops with garlic butter, and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
my wife brushed melted garlic butter over the crust before baking and it was awesome. she also used canned pizza dough instead of bread dough. good but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
DELICIOUS!! Stomboli is my husband's favorite so I made this with my grandparents for a test run...want to make it for his birthday!(He's a Jersey Boy, so it's gotta be GOOD!!) We made our own dough and left it in the bread maker too long, so it was hard to stretch it! Nor could we braid it, so our stromboli looked like a gigantic calzone! Also, 20x8 IS HUGE!! We could only stretch our dough to 15x7 and had to call more family over to help us eat it! Like others, we spread garlic butter over the top before baking and used the new Kraft Parmesan/Asiago/Romano grated cheese on top of that...SOOO GOOD!!! My aunt was picking the grated cheese crumbs off the plate-it's very yummy toasted! The only change I recommend besides making it smaller, is adding a lot more pepperoni and more cheese :) Will definitely be making this for my husband's birthday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Easy and delicious!!! I added cubed pepperoni and cappicola with tons of cheese and sauce. My son was able to make his own, he added garlic salt/oregano. I also made one with broccoli/peppers/onions, etc. Customize...it's great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheDessertLady
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe. I recommend using the pillsbury croissant dough for the bread because it fluffs up nicely and tastes so much better than some of the other frozen breads you can get. I stretched the dough out long ways and then made layers (wrapping the dough around the ingredients like a pizza pocket).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDessertLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very easy recipe and came out great. However, next time I am not sure I'd do the braiding on the top. I am not sure I did it right and there was so much bread on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Very fast, tastes great! Just remember to take the dough out to thaw in the morning. We did some minor changes the second time we made...omitted the extra oregano, the ground is too strong. Maybe crushed would be okay? Added more cheese, brushed loaf with a beaten egg to help the parmesean stick and give it nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made two modifications to this dish. #1 I brushed a Tuscan oil seasoning on top of the bread, which definitely added more flavor to the bread. #2 I used pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsEmilyAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States