Pepperoni Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
The recipe was great. I didn't like the heavy dense texture of the bread so I let it rise before baking. Otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very good. Not quite what I used to get from a childhood bakery, but close. I would never go to the trouble to make cupcakes when I could just make a cake, so with this in mind I decided to make loaves instead of rolls. I made the dough in my bread maker. It's very sticky, so I removed it to waxed paper sprayed with Pam, and divided it into four sections. Rolled each section to about 9x12, put 40 pepperoni slices on each, and a handful of cheese. Baked for 35 minutes. The appearance of the second batch benefitted greatly from an egg wash, but next time I'll use butter as I think this must have been what that bakery used. Oh, and more cheese next time too. Thanks! I've been looking for a recipe like this for more years than I want to count. Beats the Rhodes bread dough recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I love this recipe for the dough. I use all ingredients as stated, but make on the dough setting of my bread machine. I then use the dough to make larger pepperoni bread loaves. It makes 3 HUGE or 4 average size loaves, approximately 14 inches long. I roll out the dough, spread with melted butter, sprinkle garlic powder, line with sliced provolone, and then use an entire pouch of Hormel sliced pepperoni between the loaves. Bake at 350 for approximately 30-40 min, depending on size of loaves. I think this is the only recipe for pepperoni bread dough that I have come across that gives the "defining taste" for pepperoni bread in SW Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for sharing kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Going back to the old fashion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Toothman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is a new family favorite. It's simple. The kids love it. I made a couple of changes. I upped the yeast to a tablespoon, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 honey in it's place. If the temp where the dough is rising isn't really warm, it makes a huge difference in rising time as well. These keep for a long time, and taste good warmed up. Even in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My family really enjoyed These!! I reduced the sugar added a cube of Colby jack cheese in each of them with the pepperoni!! I think next time im going to try my pizza dough recipe and make them these were a tad bready then what i expected but try them you wont regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I absolutely loved this with the few changes i made to the recipe. first, i cut the sugar in half. then i added cheddar cheese (3/4 cup)and minced garlic( 2 teaspoons) to the dough. I put mozzerella( a small handful) in between the layers of pepperoni and put an egg wash and a little oregano on the tops before baking. They were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a recipe for "pepperoni roll dough"! It's suppose to be sweet! I am from WV and this is perfect! It's not suppose to be a dinner roll type dough. Try it out as written, don't change anything. Then, and only then, comment if you like it or not. What you decide to change the next time you make it is up to you. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We enjoyed these very much. I used whole wheat flour, coconut oil instead of butter (nothing against butter, just running low), and 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar in the dough. I still thought these were awfully sweet and would definitely cut back the honey next time and maybe add herbs and garlic to the dough. Added just a smidge of cheese to each roll b/c I knew my hubby would prefer it that way. I didn't hear any complaints as he polished off nearly half a batch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Using the "change servings" feature next to the place where it says this makes 20 rolls, I opted for only 10 servings as there is only my husband and me at home now. It still turned out perfectly and it was so easy, too. Taking some advice from others, I did add some thinly sliced cheese with the pepperoni (Pepper Jack... but I'm sure most other cheeses would be fine according to your own tastes and menu) and that was very nice. However, this is also great just as directed. The slight sweetness is something unexpected and only adds to the character of this bread. Thanks so much for sharing this kaoscarson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States